YouTube adventures part -37- Social skills matter?

A lot of people are nervous to make a YouTube video, mostly because they don't know how people will respond to their video. But is this really something you should worry about? I don't think you need to do that, because either people like your video or they don't like it but it's not like you can change the outcome. Some people also prefer not to speak during their video, they're worried that people might not like the commentary and others are just too shy to say something. So I can't help but wonder...


Do you need social skills for making YouTube videos?


We're not all gifted with social skills, for some of us it's really awkward to speak in public and to speak to people that might be listening later to your recording. I remember the first time I had to do that for a school assignment, it was so awkward to record myself and then later hear what I said. I sound so different than I first thought and that's probably something you would have to get used to. But you can get used to a lot of things, so don't give up so quickly just because you don't like the sound of your voice.


What you don't want to do is try to sound different, just be yourself and if people don't like it then that's too bad because your voice just happens to sound the way it does. Some people are really gifted with their voice, some can mimic other people or have funny accents or voices they use in their videos. I guess it's safe to say that some people are born entertainers while others aren't. But don't worry if you're not that gifted, not every video requires silly voices in them!


In some videos you don't hear anyone, the creator of the video will sometimes put words on the screen to make things clear and sometimes it's just a playthrough and then nothing appears on screen and nothing is said so you can fully focus on what happens on the screen. The thing is that there are all types of viewers out there and some like commentary and some don't like commentary. So if you think you would be horrible with commenting then don't let that stop you from making videos!


The main focus for making videos should be you having fun making these videos, otherwise what's the point? Don't worry too much about how you might sound or what other people might think. Not everyone is going to like your video and there is nothing you can do about that. Just have fun doing what you're doing and who cares what someone else thinks of that. Those that like your video will like it and those that don't like it will either stop watching your video or dislike it. Don't worry about what could happen, just have fun making videos because that's a lot more important!

Reacties

Populaire posts van deze blog

Button bashing

Movie Monday: Mr & Mrs Smith

Sinful Sunday: Why are you so serious?