Movie Monday: Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Out of the shadows.

As a kid I was a big fan of the Turtles, I mean seriously these cool looking guys who are ninjas and they can kick ass? Who wouldn't like that? But all good things come to an end and in my country the cartoon was taken off tv and the comic also disappeared, for me it was years until I heard about the Turtles again but I was already an adult at that time and the Turtles had changed a lot. No longer looking as cool as they did in the 80's and 90's, which became even worse in the movie where the Turtles look even more ridiculous. But does that make the Turtles movies bad? Not really, sure this isn't a masterpiece but it's still fun to watch!


Bigger, better and more bad ass?


Well you can say about this sequel that it looks more impressive, you also see more characters you will recognize from the cartoon and the movie also keeps things fast and doesn't really want to slow down. So in a way you can say, if you like the previous Turtles movie then you'll also like this one. The addition of Rocksteady and Bebop is good, they add some more humour and silly moments to the movie. Baxter is also a nice addition and of course Krang, this is probably my biggest surprise because I didn't think they could shove that also into the movie and make it work but I have to admit that it works. Ok it's not amazingly written but if you're just looking for some fast action and cool special effects then you're in for a treat!


So there are a lot more familiar faces in this movie?


You absolutely see more characters from the cartoon, which is nice and it does bring back some memories. It's cool to see Casey Jones, Baxter, Rocksteady, Bebop and Krang introduced in this movie but it's also good to see some characters return in this movie like April, Shredder and Vernon. Of course the Turtles are back and Splinter, eventhough Splinter plays a small role in the movie. The main focus is definitely on the Turtles, Casey, April, Vernon, Shredder, Rocksteady and Bebop. They all get quite some time on the screen so for some that's good and for others it's maybe a bit less interesting.


Is out of the shadows a good sequel?


It's fun to watch, so I would definitely not call it a bad movie. But it's not exactly movie of the year material. Is that a problem? I don't think it is and I doubt that the movie ever tries to be anything like that, because the movie is pretty much a rollercoaster of fun and excitement and that's fun to watch! I have to admit that I had my doubts about the Turtles movies, mostly because I don't like the look of the Turtles in the movies but that doesn't make it a bad movie nor does that make the previous movie bad. It takes some getting used to but once you get used to the looks then you know it's the same type of humour and style as you would expect from a movie with the Turtles. I can definitely recommend checking it out if you like the Turtles, just give the movie a chance and you might just like it.

Reacties

Populaire posts van deze blog

Button bashing

Movie Monday: Mr & Mrs Smith

Sinful Sunday: Why are you so serious?