Sinful Sunday: Games are rigged to fail?

Some people say that in a casino the slot machines and some other things are rigged, if this is true I don't know but it should give you something to think about. Something I've also heard from someone else is that sooner or later you always lose, which means you should take a victory and leave instead of trying your luck further. But what about games? These are probably more reliable and nothing seems to be wrong with those, right? Wrong!


Games are rigged to fail?


I often say that a game is rigged to fail when there is no chance to win, that no matter what you do you always lose. Even if you win one round you'll lose the next because the game is rigged and because it's rigged you fail. So in short a game is rigged so you will fail, in my words: rigged to fail. Let me give you an example of what I mean. I was playing the Witcher 3 and played the card game Gwent. Normally this would be a game of chance, you randomly get ten cards from your deck of at least 22 unit and several other type of cards. Unfortunately not every unit card I have is a that strong but at least I got something. When you face random NPCs in the world of the Witcher 3 then they will play often a mediocre game. But then there are sometimes opponents that are obviously cheating. There are some assholes that always have hero cards (they're worth a lot and aren't affected by weather effects), instant kill cards (that will kill all the cards in a row with the same value), a multiplier (that will double the value of all cards in that row), a trade card (they put the card on your side but they get two new cards from their deck), a reinforment card (he gets two more cards of the same value as the card he played on his side) and a medic card (he can immediately play a card he has already used). Somehow some opponents have constantly these cards and not just one of these cards, they often have all of these cards and multiple cards of the same type as well. I've had Gwent games where I faced someone who played three hero cards in one match, that's three times ten points and then with the multiplier it's instantly 30! The only way to win these matches if you have only very high level and powerful cards, which is ridiculous for a random encounter in my opinion. What really frustrates me the most is that I keep getting random picks from my deck, I never have the same cards but the opponent constantly has all his powerful cards and never has a bad hand. Which pretty much means that you lose every time you play against this asshole. I don't know about you but I think this is obviously a rigged system, you can't help but fail every time you play unless you have the best cards that you somehow find, buy or earn through a lot of trouble and you don't want to know how long that would take.


Why do developers make these kind of games?


My guess is that it's meant as a challenge, so they're made extra frustrating just so you will have to grind your ass off with finding better cards and then you might stand a chance. See if you would get all the good cards just like that and win every round then that wouldn't be much of a challenge and developers want you to stay busy for a long time with their game and not be done within a week! That doesn't take away the fact that certain games are frustration and absolutely bullshit! For example if I got a score of 63 in Gwent then the opponent will get his magic multiplier card out of his ass and get even more points. This is what really frustrates me about certain games, that you know that the game is cheating and there is nothing you can do about it. Because that's the risk of playing against a computer, you know that it's bullshit because the computer controls the game and also the cards in that game. So in a way a computer could cheat, eventhough I know that the computer doesn't cheat because that would take at least some intelligence and free will that the computer doesn't have. So the developers have programmed the game in such a way that you get screwed a lot. Only if you got the best cards and a bit of luck then you will beat certain opponents, yes great fun... I know why the developers do this but I really wish they would stop with that, because it really sucks when you play against someone for a friendly game of Gwent and it turns into a frustrating load of shit because this guy just can't lose because of this asshole having only the best cards. Yeah great fun indeed...

Reacties

Populaire posts van deze blog

Button bashing

Movie Monday: Mr & Mrs Smith

Sinful Sunday: Why are you so serious?