YouTube adventures -68- Not everything is content?

When I first started recording I thought I could just upload some matches and I would have content, but honestly who wants to watch a moron lose or see someone lose their shit over a game? It might be interesting for some but most people wouldn't want to watch that and I don't blame them. So you have to keep in mind that...

Not everything is content!

There are moments when I have no content, I've run out of videos and I haven't had time to record more videos. Even if I was recording I didn't get anything good. That always makes it tempting to just go for completely random videos, you know videos where nothing really happens but you just play the game. Perhaps interesting for some people but I doubt many people would be interested to watch that. If you don't care about views and all that then you should be fine, but if you try to make your channel grow then you better have good or at least interesting content or people won't be sticking with your channel!

At first I thought I would just upload matches I would win or at least matches where I got a lot of kills, but the truth is that people don't always care about that. They want to see a video where someone has a good time and if all you do is shout or grunt (sometimes you don't really talk when you play games you just make noises) then I doubt that many people are interested in watching that. Put on top of that a low quality video and most people will just ignore your videos and I don't blame them. It has to be interesting or helpful in a way.

So I like making achievement guide videos for some games, usually for rare achievements (achievements that less than ten percent of all the players that play that game have unlocked), which can be interesting to watch, maybe even funny sometimes, and hopefully also helpful. The best part for me is that an achievement guide video doesn't have to be long, which works perfectly with my shitty camera that seems to only be able to record for a short time. But that doesn't mean that every achievement is worth making a video for, I mean if I would do that I would have videos for every day and probably have some to spare at the end of the year. I also don't want to spam my videos, as in five to ten videos a day is ridiculous. I would post two or three a day maximum, otherwise it feels like spam to me.

It's the trick in figuring out what is interesting and worth posting and what isn't. You often learn this by trying things out. For example if people really enjoyed watching you rage in a video then you might want to post more of those videos, but don't make it a theme but more of a treat. Like every now and then without faking it of course. But the most important thing is that you're happy with what you record, if you don't like your own content then how do you expect others to like it? Even if you make shitty low quality videos like me then you should keep in mind that eventhough people might not have high expectations of you it's not ok to just upload everything. Sure I can record some gameplay where I'm walking around in a game for five or ten minutes, I know fascinating but honestly try to make it a bit interesting. Not by forcing things but just to look for a more interesting approach or perhaps to try something new.

Reacties

Populaire posts van deze blog

Button bashing

Movie Monday: Mr & Mrs Smith

Sinful Sunday: Why are you so serious?