YouTube adventures -67- The quest for content!

It seems simple, you play a game and you record which should give you content. In theory that's how it would work, unfortunately things don't always go your way. The amount of times that things went horribly wrong the moment I started recording is too many to mention, seriously so many times I was trying to record something and things just keep going wrong. Of course you can record that but unless you want a channel full of fails I would suggest you try again and again and again and...ok you probably get the idea.

The quest for content!

Last week I decided to record some Pay Day 2 Crimewave edition achievement videos. I bought all the dlc for the game so I could unlock everything that I wanted or at least make an attempt to unlock certain achievements. Unfortunately things don't go my way as much as I would like, especially when I start recording. Just looking at the fastest gun in the West achievement I probably spend hours on getting that achievement and made more than twenty videos and all of them failed. Somehow something went wrong in every video, one guy didn't die from the shot or one shot would miss or I wouldn't get the six kills within six seconds. It became really frustrating and after some time I decided to give up on the video and just get the achievement.

Giving up isn't something I like to do but sometimes you have to accept that something isn't working out, getting the content you want isn't always going to happen and sometimes you just have to accept that. Of course you can be stubborn and keep going at it until you lose your mind or your voice, from all the shouting and frustration, but then you definitely don't get any content. I'm not the type to give up that easily but after two hours you get sick and tired of something, at that point you just want to be done with it and if you don't get content then so be it. In my opinion your mental health is more important than a video that some people might be interested in watching.

I bet a lot of people have no idea the amount of work and time goes into making a video. I'm not even talking about editing or uploading, I'm talking about you trying to record something. It seems so simple but you have to understand that sometimes it feels like everything is against you, as much as you want to record that one thing it just doesn't happen and makes you only more frustrated. It's why in some videos you can hear a positive version of me and in other videos you hear a version of me that is five seconds away from smashing my head through a wall.

Don't get me wrong, I'm not asking for pity or anything like that. I'm way too proud for that nor do I wish to sound like a whiny bitch. But the truth is that a lot of things can and often will go wrong while recording. It's up to you if you want to post that or not. I actually decided to upload one of the failed videos next week, just to give viewers an idea what kind of shit I have to deal with sometimes when I record videos. Sometimes it's just bad luck but that can be enough to ruin everything! My advice for you is to keep trying until you're completely done. Don't drive yourself crazy with attempts to record something but also don't be too quick to give up. Sometimes it just takes a couple of attemps until you get what you want and sometimes it just never seems to happen. So try to find a silver lining, be persistent but don't let it drive you crazy. It's not always easy to get the content you want, but if you give up after your first attempt then maybe recording videos for YouTube isn't really the best thing for you.

Reacties

Populaire posts van deze blog

Button bashing

Movie Monday: Mr & Mrs Smith

Sinful Sunday: Why are you so serious?