YouTube adventures -58- Too hot for YouTube?

As you probably know YouTube isn't happy about certain things, for example nudity and sex are two things you better not have in your video or you can find yourself in a lot of trouble. But also songs can be a dangerous thing to have, because copyright can be a bitch and even if it's something very faint in the background it can ruin everything! So whenever you make a video you have to ask yourself this question...

Is it too hot for YouTube?

I keep my videos very simple, so no intro or outro and no songs at all. I tried adding some songs at one point, I still believe that these songs were free and shouldn't be causing problems but already in the first video I made it caused a lot of troubles. YouTube calls that the first strike, as in two more and you're out! So that immediately crushed any hope of changing my style a bit. So yeah I make low quality videos with nothing special about it, apparently if I try to do more YouTube freaks the fuck out!

Sometimes I don't even realize that I'm doing something wrong. For example I made this video in Watch Dogs a couple of years ago and it was going to be an innocent video showing you some side missions and other activities you can do. But when I hack into the security system of a hotel I see a man and a woman into some sick bdsm type of play and the woman is topless. My reaction was very surprised and I thought it was funny to share that on YouTube. But the moment I was done with uploading the video it finally hit me, YouTube isn't going to like this! So I quickly went back to the video and covered up the breasts, for as far as I could do that with my not existing skills in editing a video. Apparently it was good enough because I didn't get a complaint or maybe with some luck it slipped through the cracks.

I personally think it's just ridiculous how it's fine to show how someone gets his or her head blown off but the moment someone sees a breast there is a big panic. I mean what does that say about people? Violence is good but sex is bad? Well we can live without violence, eventhough it might be a challenge for some people, but without sex none of us would be here. Of course it makes sense to have a filter on certain videos, as in if you're not a certain age you can't watch it. But why do adults have to live with kid rules?

Whenever you decide to make a video you have to keep in mind that certain things aren't allowed on YouTube, if you're going to be stubborn and do it anyway it can get you into trouble. So it's probably better to follow the rules or risk getting kicked off YouTube. I personally think that the YouTube rules are quite ridiculous with certain things but since it's YouTube and not Royal Deamon's website I guess I have to follow their rules. I hope that things get better in the future but I wouldn't count on that any time soon...

Reacties

Populaire posts van deze blog

Button bashing

Movie Monday: Mr & Mrs Smith

Sinful Sunday: Why are you so serious?