Why do some people want to deliberately lose games?

A trend in Overwatch is that some people will pick certain characters, often characters they're not good with or that are just not helping the team, and will pretty much make certain that you lose the match. This doesn't happen every now and then, there are evenings where I can't get one good match where my team actually made an effort to win or play the objective for that matter. What happened?

People change?

When Overwatch just came out it was a fun game, I'm not saying that there weren't toxic players but a lot of matches went pretty smooth. But nothing good lasts long in the world of games, people move on or those that keep playing the game become sometimes more toxic because of all the shit they've been through. Others get bored with the game and decide to entertain themselves by being a douchebag to others. I can see that in the Uprising event as well, some people love being that dickhead that doesn't skip the intro which means the other three players are forced to watch that again after so many times. I can't say I like that, being this douchebag that annoys others but if someone is being a douchebag then it's tempting to be an even bigger douchebag in return. But who wins with that behaviour? That's right, nobody wins!

People prefer to lose than to win?

I know some people want to win, I'm a good example of that by always trying to give a 100% if possible in every match. Sure I'm not a great gamer that can carry the team but I try to do my best to help win the match. Which means in a game like Overwatch that you play the objective and try to pick a useful class. When nobody picks a tank class I pick a tank and if we have no healer I often pick a healer, but it's kind of ridiculous that when you play twenty matches on one evening that in more than half of those matches there is never anyone that wants to be a tank or a healer. Instead you get Widowmaker, Hanzo and Genji players. If that's not bad enough there are also Tracer and McCree players that are often all terrible with these character. They ignore the objective and pretty much guarantee that you lose, again. I understand that you want to try new characters and maybe you want to unlock some achievements or trophies but when your team needs a different character like a tank or a healer then why do you have to hold on to a bad character that absolutely doesn't fit with the team? At that point I can't help but wonder if some people just want to lose, because how else can you explain how so many people play so badly and often just behave like utter scumbags in the game. The not do anything and spam everyone with saying hello during the match is popular and now I've also seen people picking a healer but then constantly jump off the map without doing anything useful. I can't speak for all the Overwatch players but I think it's safe to say that this is annoying and maybe that's exactly why they do it, to be an annoying piece of shit.

So some people want to get a lot of hate?

I think so, but let's also keep in mind that a lot of these people play on alternate accounts. You can often see that on Xboxlive if someone has less than 5000 gamerscore, sure it could be a new player but if someone is being a try hard troll and pretty much does everything he or she can to be annoying then it's safe to assume that this is just some loser trying to annoy other people on an alternate account. I've met people in ranked games that instantly send you hate messages when you lose a match and I remember this person being completely useless as in not healing anyone and just sitting in spawn. I think that these type of people lead some very sad lives, because they are so bitter and sad that they try to make other people just like them. But don't let them! Just block and ignore, gaming is supposed to be fun and you can't let some loser let you think otherwise. It also helps if you switch to other games but this type of behaviour unfortunately happens in other games as well. Rainbow Six Siege is a good example where you find a lot of trolls and toxic players, not a game you want to play with strangers especially considering that the game is more than a year out so that really makes you wonder what kind of people are still playing it. Gaming is meant to be fun, if gaming stops being fun for you then maybe it's time for a break instead of being a toxic piece of shit to others.

Reacties

Populaire posts van deze blog

Button bashing

Movie Monday: Mr & Mrs Smith

Sinful Sunday: Why are you so serious?