Movie Monday: The Great Wall

This movie got a lot of shit, most of the things I heard was people complaing why the main character is a white guy. Ok it takes place in China, mostly on the great wall, but they explain why he's there and I don't have any problems with that. The monster fights are a bit weird and also the whole there are monsters living in the Earth is kind of odd but if you can accept that then this is actually an enjoyable movie!

White man in China?

This bothers some people, as if the main character has to be Asian. I can understand why some people feel that way but I personally don't have any issues with this. I mean it's explained why Matt Damon's character is in China, he's a mercernary that's looking for black powder so he can take it back to Europe and get a lot of gold for it. Would it be better if the main character was Asian? Perhaps, it does give you as a viewer some comfort that not everyone speaks English. There are actually only two Chinese officers that speak English, they learned that from an English trader that showed up many years before the mercenaries arrived, and everyone else speaks Chinese. I actually like that, this keeps things a bit realistic in a movie that is far from realistic. Why is it so unrealistic? Well there are these green dragon like creatures...

Monsters attack the great wall?

The story about the monsters is a bit weird and I personally find that the weakest point of the movie, the whole plot where the monsters come from and why they attack the humans. The monsters also look a bit weird, some type of big lizard with a big mouth full of teeth and eyes on the side of its body. I think it would've been more interesting if it were dragons, so instead of a million lizard creatures just five or six big dragons. I think that would've been more interesting in my opinion. But then the whole deal with the great wall would be ridiculous because a dragon could just fly over it.

A good fantasy action movie?

Absolutely! I enjoyed watching the fights and the technical, sometimes even ridiculous contraptions, details of certain things. Like the women with the spears diving down from the wall to stab some monsters is a very cool part of the movie. Ok it's not a realistic movie and I'm not saying that like the story is amazing, but if you're looking for some entertainment then this movie will deliver. Maybe it's not for everyone, people will be eaten by the monsters, but I think a lot of people will like the movie even if it's just a movie you want to watch once.

Is it worth checking out this movie?

Maybe not to buy but if you would rent the movie then I doubt you would regret it if you like an action fantasy movie. What I also like about the movie is that it's not super serious, there is room for humour and in a movie with big lizard creatures eating everyone they see it's a bit unexpected but definitely welcome. This makes things more enjoyable and makes the rough parts of less interesting moments more tolerable. It would surprise me that some people hate this movie but I personally like it! It's not an amazing movie but definitely worth checking out at least once, even if you do it just for the action.

Reacties

Populaire posts van deze blog

Button bashing

Movie Monday: Mr & Mrs Smith

Sinful Sunday: Why are you so serious?