Sinful Sunday: What you can and can't say to other gamers

If you play with other people then sometimes you say things that aren't very nice, even in a game with friends you sometimes use words you probably shouldn't. It's often in the heat of the moment that you say something that you might regret later, but it doesn't take away the fact that you said it. I personally try to keep the insults to a minimum and when I do insult other players then that's not something I say to them over the mic because it's lame when someone keeps insulting you during a match. But I can imagine that sometimes people annoy you or sometimes you just don't work well with other people, it's probably best to leave the team at the end of the match and hope that another team works out better for you.


What are the things you shouldn't say?


Something I hear a lot and often read in comments is people wishing other people cancer and if it's not directed at them then it's at that family. I think this is incredible rude and stupid, because a lot of people die and suffer because of cancer and to wish that upon another you honestly are a douchebag and above all absolutely stupid beyond words. It doesn't surprise that a lot of kids say these things, the squeeky voices often give away their age and you shouldn't expect a lot of maturity in those matches. Sure the whole teabagging of shit talking is part of the game, no matter how lame that already is, but to actually wish cancer on someone else or their family makes you sad beyond words. There are things you can say and things you don't say, no matter how much you dislike something. Another popular word is faggot or the short version fag. A lot of people say this to other gamers when they get killed by them or just out of pure frustration, sometimes you hear the word so much that it seems to lose its meaning. I'll be the first to admit that I sometimes say it as well, when someone keeping killing you in the back or keeps annoying you then it's easy to slip out that word and whenever I watch a video I made and notice I said that word I want to slap myself in the face. It's pure frustration at that point and it makes you sometimes say dumb things, I'm absolutely not the exception. Then there is also the word retarded that is often used when people do something dumb or make a mistake, this might not seem like a bad word but it's actually quite offensive to say that to other people. If someone did something dumb then if you really have to comment on that then say that they did something dumb and not that they're retarded.


What should you say to other people?


I think that sometimes it's better that you say nothing at all. There are so many people that plug in their mic and have nothing positive or good to say, it's probably better that you don't use your microphone and just be bitter in silence or at least so that others can't hear you. Are you frustrated with your team? Do you think that they will do as you ask when you insult them or constantly complain? I understand frustration though, because I've been so many times in teams where people don't work together or don't play for the objective, which pretty much guarantees the loss and even if you have five minutes left in the match you already know that you're going to lose if people keep playing like that. It's frustrating and it's to get upset, but instead of yelling at team mates you should either try to motivate them or just endure the frustration and hope that the next team is better or you should play another game to cool off a bit. If you really do feel like you need to say something to other people then I would advice you to keep it positive, because the moment you say idiots or losers they might just do whatever it takes to make certain that you lose. Some like to troll you or others just don't want you to win even if that means they lose as well. Even if you stay positive and try to motivate your team you should realize that in a lot of teams there is no communication and people will most likely ignore you. That sucks but that's how it is often in random teams. If you want to have a good time in a team then you need friends or you need to get lucky, if you have shitty luck and no friends that play games then you might want consider playing more single player games because multiplayer can be quite frustrating when you play in a random team, especially if you face a team of friends or a clan because they will work together and communicate. But the most important thing I can say to you is that sometimes it's better to say nothing at all, no matter how frustrated or disappointed you are.

Reacties

Populaire posts van deze blog

Button bashing

Movie Monday: Mr & Mrs Smith

Sinful Sunday: Why are you so serious?