Sinful Sunday: Betrayed by your friends?

Betrayal is always a bad thing, I don't think there is any version of betrayal where it's ok or accepable. In a relationship it's often the end of the relationship, for example when your boyfriend or girlfriend cheated on you. But what about betrayal in a game? Is this more acceptable or is it just as bad, perhaps even worse?


You have no friends in competitive multiplayer?


That's a grim but smart way of looking at it, especially in free for all you might want to think about trusting other people, even when they say they won't attack you there is always a chance that they will and stab you in the back. This doesn't have to be fatal but it does put you in a disadvantage, which makes it harder to win. My advice is that no matter how close you are with someone else, in competitive multiplayer you better not be too trusting. Even in team games because your "friend" could decide to steal your kills, could shoot you in the back and eliminate the competition or go for some cheap tricks (for example spawn camping) to get some quick kills. If you believe in honour and glory then you'll be in for a lot of disappointment, because in online competitive multiplayer there isn't a lot of that.


Friends like to screw you over?


Being stabbed in the back by a friend doesn't make this person your enemy, it does often mean that he or she is an asshole. But that's what some friends do, they fuck around and sometimes get you killed in a game. I think if you're good friends this doesn't have to mean anything, it's just your asshole friend being an asshole and I bet he or she wouldn't mind you being an asshole as well. But if you just met someone online and immediately pull this shit on him or her then you might be in for some hostile reactions. Maybe some people enjoy that, hearing someone get mad or dealing with negative comments but I can understand that some people really don't like to be screwed over by people who are supposed to be on your side. There's often a time and a place to be this asshole friend, for example in Overwatch you have skirmish where you can just fuck around without any real consequences. But bring this behaviour to ranked mode and you'll probably make a lot of people mad if you fuck around in the team and even your friends might not appreciate that type of behaviour.



Reacties

Populaire posts van deze blog

Button bashing

Movie Monday: Mr & Mrs Smith

Sinful Sunday: Why are you so serious?