Ranked matches are rigged to fail for lone wolves?

Have you ever played a ranked match and you just can't help but feel that you're set up to lose? The amount of times that I played a ranked match in a game and never stood a chance to the other team isn't something new. But it stings every time because you feel like you're wasting your time, especially when there is no way to escape because if you leave early you get a penalty (for example in Rainbow Six Siege and Overwatch). So all you can do is sit there and just accept defeat, even when you see it coming five minutes in advance.


Ranked matches are full of unbalanced bullshit?


That's my experience with ranked matches, it doesn't matter which game I play I keep finding myself at a disadvantage. For example in Rainbow Six Siege I end up in random teams and I will face often a team of friends that will work together and communicate while my team doesn't do that. The same counts for Overwatch where it's sometimes much worse, I hadn't even gotten a rank yet (I was still in my ten placement matches) and I would face a team of people with the average rank of 65 while in my team there was only one guy who had a rank and that was 48. How is that fair? We got wiped out, because my team didn't work together, didn't communicate, didn't play for the objective and the people on my team picked mostly characters they were absolutely shit with. For example on the attack having a Widowmaker and a Hanzo is already showing that you're in a team with idiots because two snipers on attack is hardly ever a good idea, especially when you face a team with a much higher rank than yours! But this wasn't just a fluke, it happens several times that you find yourself against a higher ranked team than your team, which means your rank will only go further down once you have gained a rank after ten placement matches. Then there are the rage quitters that don't help the team either, it really confirms that playing with a team of random people in ranked matches increases the chance on a lot of frustration and failure!


So you shouldn't play ranked matches in a random team?


It's not all bad, I've won ranked matches as a member of a random team. Even in teams where there was no teamwork or communication, but the only reason that worked is because the other team also had no teamwork or communication. The moment you face a team of friends or just people that do communicate and work together you're done as a random team, because you'll always lose when the other team is working together and you're on your own and no one helps you. No matter how amazing you are at a game, when you're on your own against a solid team it will be very difficult to win if your team doesn't step up and start working together as well. But especially in Overwatch you see constantly people charging in on their own and getting killed within a second. It's just a waste of time and effort to play ranked matches at that point. Unless you're a masochist and just want to endure pain, not physical but mental pain because this will give you a massive headache! There's nothing wrong though to play a game with random people, just don't expect too much of it. If you're lucky they will communicate and make an effort to work with you as a team, but most experiences I have with random teams is that most people will play on their own and do their own things. Sometimes that leads to victory and sometimes (or should I say most times) it leads to defeat. I guess at that point you can just hope you get a better team next time...

Reacties

Populaire posts van deze blog

Button bashing

Movie Monday: Mr & Mrs Smith

Sinful Sunday: Why are you so serious?