Should you buy the standard or special edition of a game?

It was pretty simple in the early days of gaming, there was only one version of the game and that was it. No fancy special editions or other stuff that would confuse the minds of people who really wanted to buy the game but didn't know if the special edition would be worth the extra money. These days it seems that a lot of games have special editions, Fortnite already has about four different versions and in my opinion I don't think it's always worth the extra money. But sometimes it can be, especially if you're really interested in the game.

Should you buy the special edition of a game?

That's really up to you, but in my opinion it's often not worth it. The best you often get is an extra skin for your character(s), a bonus weapon or something else that you don't really need. Also keep in mind that if you pre-order a game you often get already something special, so why would you go for the special edition and spend even more money on exactly the same game? Well the most logic reason is that you really like the game and want to get all the extra stuff you can get with it. I really hope you're certain about the game because if you don't like the game then you just wasted extra money on a game you don't even like that much. This is why I like games like Injustice 2 and Fortnite, with these games you can buy the special content separately without having to pay the full price of that version of the game. That was you can first check if you like the game and if you do like the game you can buy the special content without paying anymore than the price for the extra content. I think this is the best way to figure out if the special edition is worth it, because if you really like the game then investing more money in it isn't really a dumb idea. But to make the gamble before you even play game is a bit risky, something I wouldn't want to do.

Is the special edition worth the extra money?

I don't think so, if I have to be honest with you. Just look at the legendary edition of Fortnite, that's a 150 Euros that give you some extra weapons, heroes and space in your inventory. Which is great but honestly the characters and weapons you can unlock for free with the llamas you can earn by getting V-Bucks in missions and there is absolutely not guarantee that the extra llamas you get with this edition are going to contain anything good. I think it's a lot of money for something that you don't really need and in a game that isn't very stable. Don't get me wrong I like Fortnite but the price for the legendary edition is ridiculous, especially if you compare it to the items you get with it. Ok some people might think it's worth it and if they're happy with what they get for 150 Euros then that's good for them. I think that it's not worth it, it's too much money for something that might look good at first but in my opinion is just not worth all that money. But when I look at Injustice 2 then I have to admit that the ultimate edition (worth a 100 Euros) is worth it, I bought the ultimate pack a month after the launch of the game, and I have no regret of buying the ultimate pack for 40 Euros. Some would call me stupid for buying that but the thing is that it doesn't matter what other people think, it's about what you think and if you think it's worth it then go for it. Even if everyone calls you crazy, it's your money so buy what you want to buy. Just be careful, don't be too quick and try to get as much information on the special edition you want to buy. Is it really worth the extra money? What do you exactly get with this special edition? These are questions that you should have answers for, otherwise it seems like a risky decision. But it's your money and if you want to buy the special edition then go for it, I just hope it's worth the money.


Reacties

Populaire posts van deze blog

Button bashing

Movie Monday: Mr & Mrs Smith

Sinful Sunday: Why are you so serious?