Movie Monday: Batman and Harley Quinn

As a kid I watched Batman the animated series a lot, so seeing this animated movie in the same style as the animated series is great news for someone like me. To make it even better some of the origianl voice actors of the animated series return. But I wonder how others look at it, because I think some people don't like the style in this animated movie and probably want the modern version. Is this animated movie worth checking out? Well let's find out!

Not my Harley!

The outrage I heard and read in the comments was big when people found out that there was a new voice actor for Harley Quinn, people went crazy and said that the new voice is terrible. Well...I disagree. Melissa Rauch, who does the voice for Harley in this animated movie, does a fantastic job and I can't complain about that! This is not the same Harley as you might expect, this Harley is free from the Joker, and his influence, and she is her own woman in this movie. But don't expect this to be a super rational and serious Harley, I mean she's still crazy and loves violence! But this is a Harley that sings, feels bad for someone who's dying and who seduces Nightwing. Wait what?!!! I won't spoil anything more, you'll have to see the movie if you want to know more!

My kind of Nightwing.

I have to admit that I prefer Nightwing and before that Robin from Batman the animated series, Loren Lester is the voice for Robin/Nightwing for me. He brings the not so serious and sometimes even criticizing Batman version of Nightwing. I also like the dynamic between him and Kevin Conroy, THE voice of Batman, which is even more entertaining to watch than Harley. What's funny that in this movie there are some comments, mostly from Harley, about his mullet in the animated series. But it's really great to see this Nightwing again, it was my first encounter with Nightwing, the Nightwing comics aren't really alive where I live unfortunately, so it's good to see the original Nightwing, for me at least, again.

This movie is silly?

One thing you have to keep in mind with this movie is that it's not for kids and it's definitely not to be taken too seriously. For example the fart scene in the Batmobile isn't something you would see in the animated series, but in the movie it seems like everything was permitted. I heard some people that were irritated by this, but it didn't bother me and even made me laugh to see the reaction of Nightwing and Batman. Then there is the scene in the nightclub, Harley sings and Batman drinks milk? Like I said before, don't take this movie too serious! But there are moments where the silly behaviour takes a break and you get down to some more serious business. The Harley and Ivy moments or when Harley sees someone dying. It shows that the characters are more than just silly.

Should you check out this movie?

I can definitely recommend it, especially to Batman the animated series fans. Eventhough this is a bit different and maybe not completely what you expect it's absolutely a fun movie and hearing some familiar voices from the animated series combined with the style in this movie is just a nice trip down memory lane for me and I bet for other fans of the animated series as well. This movie might be a bit weird for some but I bet most people will enjoy watching this movie and hopefully that could mean that we might see more of this style in the future. I would definitely not be against it!

Reacties

Populaire posts van deze blog

Button bashing

Movie Monday: Mr & Mrs Smith

Sinful Sunday: Why are you so serious?