YouTube adventures -36- Montage madness

Do you remember those 80's movies with the montages in it? That was usually one of my favourite moments in the movie, because it was usually the moment where someone becomes stronger, learns new moves or it's like a bonding moment with other people. But now you have montages on YouTube as well, usually a montage from someone getting kills in a first person shooter. If one or two people would be doing that then I wouldn't care but the problem is that a lot of people do that and throw this on YouTube which creates...


Montage madness!


Hate would be a strong word to describe how I feel about gaming montages, some are actually fun or informative. You know when a YouTuber actually talks about something else while showing his montage which makes the montage more something to give the listener something to look at while the YouTuber talks. But then there are also people that try to make themselves look amazing at a game by only putting the their kills in the video and the moment they would die they cut that out. I think that's dumb and makes someone look like a douchebag, because if you only show the good moments then you're being a liar. You try to make yourself look better than you really are and even if some claim they do this not to bore people with deaths or fails but sometimes that can be just as funny.


I actually like people that also show how they lost or how they got upset about something because that's more honest and makes it something I can relate to. If someone only shows the succes in a match then you're not being honest to your viewers. Maybe some viewers don't care but I think a lot of people just want to see the full match and everything that happened. What also sucks are people that only upload videos where they win the match. Ok uploading a match where you and your team got owned by the other team isn't fun and I doubt a lot of people would be interested in watching that. But sometimes it can be a close match to the very end and if you happen to lose then that is still entertaining to watch.


My problem with montage videos is that a lot of people are making them for attention, to brag and to make themselves look better than they really are. This is why I don't like montage videos and why I would never make one myself. There is nothing wrong with being proud of something, if you got a twenty kill streak then that's great but also show the moment where someone shut you down or where things didn't go so well. I think that's fair towards your viewers instead of constantly just trying to look good in a game while in reality you're not that good. Just be honest and keep things fun, if you go try hard serious then are the videos still fun to watch? I don't think so.

Reacties

Populaire posts van deze blog

Button bashing

Movie Monday: Mr & Mrs Smith

Sinful Sunday: Why are you so serious?