Movie Monday: Jurassic World

When I was a kid I watched Jurassic Park with my sister, that was one of the most amazing movies I've ever seen in the cinema. I also watched the sequels and eventhough I also love the lost world I was a bit disappointed in Jurassic Park 3. So I must admit that I was surprised that years later there was going to be a fourth movie called Jurassic World. It pretty much takes you back to the park idea but this time bigger and better...well maybe not better. What's also different here is that the park is fully operational. But as you might expect things don't go exactly as planned.


Dinosaurs are cool?


As a kid I thought so, as an adult I'm not exactly a fan but it still fun to see a dinosaur movie. What kind of disappointed me are the moments where people are just being served to to die at the hands eh claws of the dinosaurs. In Jurassic Park there is that moment where someone gets eaten, I won't spoil anything eventhough the movie is from 1993 so you probably seen it already, by the dinosaur that spits venom. As a kid that was scary and it did at a bit of horror to the movie, in Jurassic World it seems that people are just there to be eaten at certain points in the movie. I personally find that a shame and in a way it's a cheap way to score some points with certain people that love that type of stuff. I would've loved to see more character development and maybe some cool moments between humans and dinosaurs instead of the whole I will eat you so you better run type of thing that has been going on in this movie. Don't even get me started about the hybrid dinosaur, that was probably one of the dumbest thing I've seen in a Jurassic Park movie.


So this is a bad movie?


You might think so if you hear my complaints but in all honesty it's not a bad movie, there are just moments that I personally didn't like and can't even come close to the first and second Jurassic Park movies. Sure the special effects look better in this movie and yes there's a lot going on, but when I look at the story and the characters then the 'old' Jurassic Park movies are still way better. I think Jurassic World is a good movie if you want to watch something while stuffing popcorn in your mouth, which is once again not me bashing on this movie but more me telling you that there is a lot of mindless action going on so it's great for eating popcorn. It's not a movie that holds you by the edge of your seat like when Velociraptors hunt down the two kids in the kitchen in Jurassic Park, that's the moment where you don't eat because you are too focused on the screen. I never had that with Jurassic World. But maybe that's not what the movie was trying to do, maybe Jurassic World is really the type of movie that just wants to entertain and that is what it does in its own way. So it's absolutely not a bad movie, just not as good as Jurassic Park and the lost world.

Reacties

Populaire posts van deze blog

Button bashing

Movie Monday: Mr & Mrs Smith

Sinful Sunday: Why are you so serious?