Sinful Sunday: Toxic gamers

When you play an online multiplayer game there's always a good chance that there's a toxic gamer in your team. The guy or girl that complains about everything and is giving everyone or just one person specific a hard time when things aren't going so well. Even when your team wins these people might find something to whine about, which is exactly why you call them toxic gamers because they poison the team with their words and sometimes even actions.


What is a toxic gamer exactly?


A toxic gamer is someone that will scream at you for picking the wrong character, that will openly declare his or her hatred for the team and that it's the fault of the team that he or she lost. In other words a toxic gamer is someone that brings a lot of negativity to a team and your team will be much better off without this person. Toxic gamers can be found in most online multiplayer matches, but the biggest chance of finding a toxic gamer is in competitive online multiplayer matches. You'll recognize them pretty fast because they're often loud, annoying and hardly have anything positive to say.


What makes a toxic gamer so annoying?


It's mostly the fact that they bring a lot of negativity to a team. They will give shit to people for not being as good as this person wants him or her to be and often speak or type in open chat how bad their team is. They're horrible losers and that makes it very frustrating to have one of these people in your team, because according to the toxic gamer he or she could've won if it wasn't because of his or her team. I can understand frustration and I've also been in bad teams, even when I record videos I can be negative towards my team. But the big difference between me and toxic gamers is that I don't turn on my microphone and tell them that in their face and let my frustration loose on them. Maybe they did their best and it just wasn't enough, that's still frustrating but you can't do much about it. Besides why give people shit when it's just a game? I might have some toxic elements but I don't send messages to other players telling them how bad they are. If I'm in a bad team I often leave the team after the match and hope to get a better team next time. Toxic gamers will often rage quit during the match, which doesn't help the team at all. The only good thing that can come of that is that you have a chance of getting a friendly and helpful player in his or her place.


How do you prevent yourself from becoming toxic?


It helps if you don't swim in radioactive waste. Ok ok that's a lame joke... The best way to prevent yourself from becoming toxic is to stop playing if you feel that you're getting frustrated, just finish the match and take a break. Don't push yourself towards frustration because you'll be horrible company in the team. Even when you feel like your team sucks that doesn't mean that you have to tell them that they suck, maybe they had a bad day or the other team was just better than your team. These things happen and to rage against your team only shows that you're a bad loser. Also don't rage quit from a game when things are going bad, sure it sucks if you know that you're going to lose but leaving the game early just shows how bad you are. If you team hangs around in the spawn area and doesn't want to play anymore then I can understand the need to rage quit because what is the point? But try to avoid that, just play till the end of the match and then leave. You're not going to be friends with everyone and that's fine, but that doesn't mean you can be an asshole to everyone that you don't like!

Reacties

Populaire posts van deze blog

Button bashing

Movie Monday: Mr & Mrs Smith

Sinful Sunday: Why are you so serious?