Overwatch, the game you love to hate and hate to love?

I like playing Overwatch, it's a fast and fun first person shooter that is easy to learn but difficult to master. Even as the worst first person shooter gamer you can find one of the 21 characters that fits your playstyle, so it doesn't surprise me that a lot of people like to play Overwatch. So what's the problem? Well...


Matchmaking is stupid?


Whenever I jump into a quick match I find myself out of my league, because there are a lot of high levels and often they're friends playing in a team and I'm in a team of random with often lower levels. High levels usually don't have to mean that much in Overwatch but facing a team that works well together as a team of randoms that don't communicate and don't work together often means defeat for the random team. This doesn't happen once or twice on an evening, no this can happen sometimes ten times in a row! If by some miracle you finally find a good team you immediately get split up in the next match and you're often back in a team of low skill. But when you're in a bad team then it seems  that team hardly ever gets broken up and if you don't leave yourself you can find yourself in that team for at least five matches in a row. It seems that ranked play is better for finding people of your skill level but going into ranked matches as a random player is probably a good way to invite frustration into your game because any team of friends will slaughter you!


Blizzard doesn't know when to stop nerfing?


With all the whining assholes you can guess that a lot more characters will get nerfed. Maybe you're ok with that but I hate it. I think the game was good enough from the start. Sure there are absolutely overpowered characters like Bastion, Torbjörn and Junkrat but every character has a counter character so a smart team knows how to adapt. But still McCree and Widowmaker got a nerf, I can understand that people that often get killed by these characters are happy but they had their place in the game. Now it feels like that McCree can hardly stop anyone at this point, because the hammer fan at point blank will miss a lot and people no longer fear McCree which definitely beats the point of being McCree. It used to take tactics to take down a McCree or a lucky shot (from a sniper for example) but now people just walk up to him and kill him. Widowmaker takes now more skill to use, no longer are body shots that lethal and Zenyata's actually have a chance to survive an encounter with Widowmaker. I understand why the characters got nerfed and in a way I agree, but once characters are being nerfed you have to ask yourself where it ends. Because the moment enough people whine about Reaper he will be nerfed and then it's the turn for Tracer and so on. Maybe just learn to counter certain characters before you scream bloody murder!


People are the worst in Overwatch?


This is unfortunately true, oh I'm not saying that the Overwatch community is the most toxic in competitive multiplayer but you'll find some serious annoying douchebags online. Some people really make it their mission to be an annoying asshole online. For example people that spend twenty or more hours on just playing Bastion, wether it's attack or defense they'll be camping in the back. I can understand that everyone has a favourite character but when you spend fifty hours on a game and you haven't spend one minute on a healer character then that says a lot about you! But it's not all bad, there are also friendly people and I've even met people that gave me compliments for my performance in a match. These were people on the opposite team so that is quite surprising. I'm happy that there are friendly people in Overwatch and I hope that they stay in the game for as long as possible. Because no matter all the frustration or irritation you might get, Overwatch is a fun game to play!

Reacties

Populaire posts van deze blog

Button bashing

Movie Monday: Mr & Mrs Smith

Sinful Sunday: Why are you so serious?