Sinful Sunday: Ignorance!

I was going to talk about something else here when I heard some idiot talk on tv about how games make you violent, again! The thing is that this guy is supposed to be smart (their words not mine) and talk about why there is war in the world, but to blame it one people playing games puts being stupid in a whole different light. Oh sure playing games isn´t the only reason but to put it there already makes me mad, the ignorance of such a statement already shows me that this guy has never played a game in his life and yet he knows all about it because everyone that plays games is violent. Ignorance!


What´s so bad about one guy talking shit about games? It´s not bad if one person talks shit about games, it´s bad when people think that he knows what he´s talking about and think that he´s right. That´s bad! Why do games always get blamed for such shit? Yes there are games with a war theme but does that make you want to kill people? No I don´t think so! People that do horrible things didn´t need to play games to make them do that, maybe a game can help them see a sick fantasy come true but to put all games in a bad spotlight for that is just stupid. Playing games is for fun, a lot of people that play games do that because they´re having fun playing games. Wether you´re five or fifty you often play games just for fun, but sometimes you also want to accomplish something (a difficult achievement/trophy or beating a certain level or boss).


I´m sick and tired of seeing these idiots on tv talking shit about games, at least half of them don´t know what they´re talking about and the other half talks about one or two experiences that defines everyone else that plays games. Sure I can enter a random CoD lobby and they can all be assholes, but by already assuming that they´re assholes and calling them assholes doesn´t that make me an asshole as well? It´s things like this that these ´smart´ people don´t understand or don´t care about, one guy goes bad after playing violent video games so all video games must be bad. No it doesn´t work like that, because if that´s how the world works then we can hardly do anything anymore because something bad must have happened with almost everything we´ve seen or experienced.


Instead of talking shit about games people could play games themselves and not the I played a game for an hour so I´m an expert routine but actually play games for a year and then come to a conclusion. But even that couldn´t define everyone, I´ve played games for 23 years and I don´t know everything about games. Gaming is a personal experience, some like it and others hate it and that´s fine. Not everyone has to like it, but keep your so called facts to yourself because it´s just ignorance when you talk about something you don´t know anything about!

Reacties

Populaire posts van deze blog

Button bashing

Movie Monday: Mr & Mrs Smith

Sinful Sunday: Why are you so serious?