Looking back at.....Street Fighter!

Can you remember the first Street Fighter game? I can barely remember it because it´s been quite a long time since I last played that game. But for me at that time it was the fighting game. Just like a lot of other guys I was a fan of Blanka and I really enjoyed shocking my enemies or use the rolling ball move for a quick attack. I guess we all have our favourites but things change and more character became playable, but somehow it never feels like the first game you played in the series.


To be honest I´m not much of a fighting game kind of guy, especially when you´re quickly frustrated and angry you might want to avoid fighting games as they bring out the worst in you. But if you learn the moves, know what to do and do it well then you can be an opponent to be feared! I don´t think I´ve ever gotten that far with Street Fighter but I definitely had a good time playing it, especially as Blanka but I also tried Ryu and Ken. I must admit that some character are less interesting to me, but I think there is a character for everyone. Especially now that there are over 40 fighters in the last Street Fighter game, I can hardly believe that there isn´t a fighter that works well for you in that game.


A lot of people prefer Ryu and I get that, he looks cool and he has some awesome moves. Of course the American version of Ryu (Ken) is also cool, but somehow I always played worse as him eventhough his moves are pretty much the same as the moves of Ryu. I wonder if people that played Ryu in the first game still prefer to play as him in the latest game, because there are so many characters to choose from! I switched to Vega in the second game because I love the wall jump and stabbing people with the claw. But also to show some love to my Spanish family, I guess that just made sense to me at the time. It´s interesting though that sometimes the character you pick isn´t just about the way he or she looks or the moves he or she has, some people have several reasons to pick a character. Which can be quite obvious in some cases but quite interesting in other cases.


As you probably know after Street Fighter you had several sequels and different versions of the sequels, I think Street Fighter 4 alone has already several versions. I guess the ultimate edition is the last one and puts a lot of characters in it. The problem I usually have with fighting games isn´t just the frustration with losing a fight, it´s the fact that it doesn´t take long to beat the game and that it gets old pretty fast because you go through the same path facing the same opponents and then you get a cinematic that lasts about a minute as a reward. It seems hardly worth it sometimes, but I do have fun playing fighting games every now and then. I think Street Fighter will always be my favourite fighting game mostly because it was the first fighting game I played and somehow you never forget about your first!

Reacties

Populaire posts van deze blog

Button bashing

Movie Monday: Mr & Mrs Smith

Sinful Sunday: Why are you so serious?