Sinful Sunday: Attacking a friendly character in a game

I think we all have moments we just want to hack and slash, sometimes friendly NPCs get in the way and that may result into some unfortunate killings. Maybe some people do that on purpose, for others it´s just an accident. But that doesn´t take away the fact that you´re killing characters you shouldn´t, what says that about you?!!!


It´s fun to be an asshole? I guess in some games it is, for example in the Saints Row games I like to just go on a killing spree. Why? Because I can! It´s not like GTA V where the cops are extremely effective in killing you, so if the police in Saints Row can´t stop you then why should you? I think the same can be said about Fable games, it´s fun to be evil and just murder everyone. But there is a downside to that choice, the villagers won´t come back and you´ll have less things to do when everyone is dead.


But what if it´s an accident? We all make mistakes, unfortunately the game doesn´t always see it that way. Just look at GTA V where you hit someone with your car by accident and the cops will instantly spawn on you and shoot the shit out of you! I´m glad that it´s not this extreme in every game, some games give you a warning not to shoot at certain characters or stop a certain action or it will cause the mission to fail. In a lot of CoD games this is a good way to keep you from going mental, but then again there is this no Russian mission in Modern Warfare 2... Still you can choose to kill innocents or not, if given the choice you might want to do that in a game but that doesn´t make you bad in real life. Does it?


A lot of games have been accused of making people more violent, I guess these people have never seen the movies or series on tv lately. But that still doesn´t make you a bad person, it´s the moment you decide that it´s ok to hurt others that you´re a bad person. Not by watching movies with violence in it or playing games with violence in it. Of course it helps if you don´t let kids play games that are meant for adults. My point is that it´s not a crime to be an asshole in a game and it doesn´t have to say anything about you, but maybe it´s nice if you just get along with everyone and keep the killing to the minimum.

Reacties

Populaire posts van deze blog

Button bashing

Movie Monday: Mr & Mrs Smith

Sinful Sunday: Why are you so serious?