I hate Monday: Unskippable cutscenes

No matter how fun a game is you will learn to hate it if you have to deal with unskippable cutscenes. In my first playthrough I wouldn't skip through a cutscene but if I play the game for the third or fourth time then I kind of want to skip certain scenes when I already know what will happen. Especially in games with long cutscenes it's nice if you can save some time and go straight into the action. Unfortunately some games don't allow you to skip cutscenes, which can lead to some frustrating gameplay!

Why do you want to skip a cutscene?

I wouldn't skip cutscenes, at least not in my first or second playthrough but after that things become a bit repetitive and only if I haven't played the game in a long time and I don't know what exactly is going to happen I would sit through the cutscene again but otherwise it's just boring to watch the same thing over and over again. There aren't many cutscenes you want to watch multiple times in a game. Sometimes you just want to get on with it and so you want to skip the cutscene. But I've also played games with a lot of bugs in it and sometimes a cutscene is really bad. For example the sound is off with the action and the motions of the characters stutters with a type of rubberbanding that makes it unwatchable. So yeah I would prefer to skip it than sit through five minutes of that. So skipping a cutscene isn't my first thought when I see a cutscene but it's nice that the option is there for those that want to skip it for whatever reason that might be. It's useful if you put a safety on the skip button so you have to confirm if you press it, this will hopefully avoid situations where you might skip a cutscene when this wasn't your intention.

Why can't you skip certain cutscenes?

Some developers like to hide loading times in cutscenes, this avoids those loading screens but it does create unskippable cutscenes which can be just as annoying. I remember trying to go for an achievement in a game but you would have to sit through that same cutscene that you can't skip everytime I would reload the checkpoint when I failed to get the achievement. The first ten times are annoying, after that it just become torture! I can see how that was an achievement because sitting through the same cutscene for more than ten times and you can't skip it should get you a reward! It's also possible that some developers don't want you to skip cutscenes, they consider the story to be important and so you have to sit through these cutscenes wether you like it or not. But isn't that up to the player? I mean I understand that developers value the story and put a lot of work and time into creating the game but once someone buys the game he or she can pretty much skip whatever he or she wants. Besides for the first playthrough that would make sense to watch every cutscene but after multiple playthroughs you really don't want to watch that entire cutscene again. That is boring and nobody will enjoy that for the fourth or fifth time! So give people the option to always skip a cutscene and then people can decide if they want to watch the cutscene or not. That seems fair to me!

Reacties

Populaire posts van deze blog

Button bashing

Movie Monday: Mr & Mrs Smith

Sinful Sunday: Why are you so serious?