I've stopped playing ranked mode in Overwatch

If you know even the slightest bit about me then you would know that I'm not really into ranked mode, I personally think it's a mode for professional gamers or try hards. I consider myself more of a casual gamer so I doubt I fit into that type of gaming. But it's nice to test your skills sometimes and just try to have fun. This was happening for some time in ranked but now almost a year and a half after Overwatch launched I just can't bring myself to play ranked anymore.

What's wrong with ranked mode in Overwatch?

It's actually not that bad, but after my experience in season 5 I just couldn't go for season 6. Do you know why? Because the developers, Blizzard, decided to give people a lower ranking than what they would normally get. So as a grand master you could've gotten the master rank, the master ranked player could get the diamond rank and so on. For me as a platinum player that meant that I got kicked to gold which just felt wrong, I did so well during my placement matches and I got such a terrible rank considering my succes in the placement matches. When I found out what Blizzard did I was so annoyed, it really made me want to quite completely with Overwatch because I think it's wrong to mess with people like that. They might have had their intentions but honestly it sucks when you do your best and get a lower rank than normal while you actually did pretty good. This already made me hate ranked mode, not that I was a big fan after four seasons but at least it was this thing I did and I got done without too much trouble. Season 5 ruined ranked mode for me in a way that has kept me from ranked mode in Overwatch ever since. But even with all that bullshit happening it's not even the main reason why I quit ranked mode in Overwatch.

What is the biggest problem with ranked mode in Overwatch?

I could say it's the unfair balancing, eventhough this happens more in arcade and quickplay (one team has a group of friends or a clan working together while the other team is completely random), but no that's not even the main problem. The main problem of ranked mode but also every other mode in Overwatch are the people. What?!!! Yeah I know, this sounds like a lot of whining but let me explain. I don't expect people to be nice or even helpful online, considering how your average competitive multiplayer game community is you wouldn't expect that. But in Overwatch the players are sometimes really toxic, as in absolutely not fun and not productive to play with. Half of the time there is always this one person that has to comment how bad a player is or will just give up and try to sabotage the team. You know the Mei that freezes the entrance of the spawn area or someone that picks a useful character and just keeps saying hello or runs up to the enemy team on his or her own and dies over and over again. That type of behaviour. It's not fun and it's absolutely frustrating to have to play with people like that. But then there are also the type of people that show no initiative. Have you ever been in a team that couldn't get out of spawn? I seem to find these teams all the time. I actually had to pick Bastion, a character I hate to play, to clear out the enemy team that was camping around the spawn entrance because my team just couldn't move out without dying immediately or just too scared to move forward. Then there is often the lack of communication, the game pretty much keeps hinting you that you should communicate but on the consoles hardly anyone seems to do that. The only people that seem to feel like talking are the toxic assholes or the rare person that actually is talking but decides to give up halfway during the match. Some will rage quit and others just fuck around. It has turned ranked mode into a breeding ground of frustration and irritation. An absolute not fun place to be as a solo queue player.

No more ranked mode for me?

Yeah I'm done, which is a shame because it used to be fun or at least fun enough to tolerate the not so fun moments. I guess this happens to games that are more than a year old, you keep a certain type of people in the game after all that time and apparently most of them aren't fun to play games with. The same happened to me with Rainbow Six Siege, a game that used to be so much fun and I also played ranked mode in that game. But over time you just get tired of the game and also the people in the game. The team killing and people just deliberately sabotaging, as in killing the hostage or breaking all the defensive equipment, which really sucks out the fun in a game. So unfortunately this is the end for ranked, at least for me. It's a real shame though because I have good memories of playing ranked mode, but all good things come to an end and I guess this is just one of those things.

Reacties

Populaire posts van deze blog

Button bashing

Movie Monday: Mr & Mrs Smith

Sinful Sunday: Why are you so serious?