YouTube adventures -64- Negativity and how to deal with it

No matter how much fun or how helpful your video is there will always be people that will be quite negative towards you and your video. Why? Because they can, because it's the internet and because some people are just assholes. If you're new to uploading videos on YouTube this might come as a surprise but I think most people are aware of how nasty things can get in the comment section. So let me give you some advice how to deal with...

Negativity.

The number one comment that people often like to throw at me is how terrible my videos are. I don't know if they want to be assholes or try to provoke me but the thing is that I know that my videos are of low quality and I couldn't care less what someone else thinks of them. If I made videos just to get the approval of others then I would definitely be doing things different. I make videos for fun, I don't earn money with them and I honestly don't try to impress people with my videos. It's often just a video with me playing a game and/or talking about random things. It's nothing special and I definitely don't expect to get compliments.

But I can understand that some people are really bothered if they keep getting negativity from viewers. It really makes you wonder why they do it. Does it really matter? I think it's more important how you deal with it. I like to come up with a clever or mildly insulting response. If someone is being a dick to you then you don't have to spare them! If someone tells you that your videos suck then you can reply that his or her mother does the same on your dick. Ok pretty immature but sometimes this is the best type of response that people understand, trying to reason with them or explain things is just a waste of time. You're most likely talking to a sad sack of shit troll that has nothing better to do with his or her life. Don't expect to enlighten someone like that with reason.

Of course you can always ignore negative comments, perhaps that's for the best but it feels good to fight back. Nobody forced this person to watch your video or to type a comment, no this person did all that and is trying to be an asshole. So why would you be super nice or reasonable? I'm not saying that you start a shouting match in the comments but I can say from experience that it's better to respond sometimes. If you're never going to respond people might think you're a robot, as cool as that might sound to some people I prefer to keep the meat suit!

There are also people that will criticize your channel but give you tips on how to improve. This type of constructive criticism isn't someone being an asshole, maybe they sound like one but usually this is someone that wants to help you. It's easy to be annoyed by these type of comments but if you're not interested in what they have to say then you can just thank them for their advice and move on. Not everyone is the enemy! The most important thing is that you have fun doing what you do, that hopefully keeps the videos fun to watch and with some luck it might even get you some more subscribers.

Reacties

Populaire posts van deze blog

Button bashing

Movie Monday: Mr & Mrs Smith

Sinful Sunday: Why are you so serious?