Sinful Sunday: Gamer snobs are real?

I hate snobs, people that think that they're better than you because of some random bullshit. My daddy makes more money then your daddy. Right, who gives a fuck anyway. But now it seems this snob bullshit is becoming a plague in games as well. What the hell happened? Did I blink and suddenly every fucking turd in existence suddenly decided to play games? Great...

Gamer snobs are real?

It surprised me but yes they're real. I know that there were always these douchebags that would make comments about you not being able to afford certain things or the peasant remark from some PC troll but it was usually just some douchebag being douchebag. But now it seems we're going full try hard snob here with people feeling like they're amazing and they refuse to play with people on a lower rank. Seriously? Just because you have a higher rank you think you're too good to play with someone with a lower rank? As if that rank really matters, as if having a diamond rank makes you a god among people with a silver rank. What's worse is that some of the snobs actually think they're so hot shit that they demand that others listen to him or her because they have a higher rank. Not only does that mean I immedately mute this douchebag but I also report this sad sack of shit for being a piece of shit towards others for no reason at all. Maybe you're thinking that I'm so defensive because I'm not a pro player or because my rank isn't that high. But honestly guys is it really that much fun to be such an asshole to other players? Does a higher rank really give you the right to be an asshole to other players? I don't think so!

Why are there so many snobs?

Because a lot of games have a ranked mode which often invites these type of people to show their worst side. The only reason why I play ranked mode is for achievements or for a reward, for example the points you get for a certain rank in Overwatch at the end of a season. I honestly don't care about ranks or what rank someone has, I think it's a lot more interesting to have fun playing a game and try to make the most of things even if things aren't going your way. Apparently there are a lot of people that do care about ranks, not only do they have to brag about it but also think that their rank gives them the right to demand things or that this makes them the boss of you. A friend of mine played Overwatch some weeks ago and she got a message from a player that told her that she would never reach master rank with the way she was playing. She tells him that she doesn't care about rank, that she has never played a ranked match and doesn't plan to do so in the future. So this guy responds saying that with that attitude she could never become as good as him on master rank. First of all this guy is sad, I mean bragging about a master rank as if that's the best thing in the game while there are at least 500 players in the top 500 better than this douchebag and then there are the grand masters as well. Secondly bothering someone else with this type of bullshit is already pathetic but when this person lets you know that he or she doesn't care about rank then that should be a clear sign that he or she doesn't give a shit about his or her rank and that should be crystal clear that they don't want anything to do with this type of rank bullshit talk. But some people feel better by letting others feel worse, even if they don't care they will still bother you about this rank nonsense. As if it really matters, oh right it doesn't! The main reason why there are so many snobs online? Probably because there are a lot of games with ranked play in it, this is where people that have a need for this type of bullshit are hanging around and I would strongly advice you to stay clear of this unless you have a thick skin and really don't give a shit what others say to you.

How do you deal with snobs?

My advice is just to ignore them, who gives a shit what some try hard loser thinks of you. If they're rude or offensive then you can always report them, otherwise just block and ignore. These type of people aren't even worth talking to. If they think that their rank is so important then that's good for them, but I honestly don't give a flying fuck. I know I'm pretty average at best and I'm fine with that. I don't play games to brag, to make others feel worse or show off a rank that nobody else really gives a shit about. In a way snobs are sad, because they need others to feel better about themselves, because if we all ignore them what is left of these sad sacks of shit? Not much. If you do feel like playing ranked matches then I can strongly advice you to be prepared for the emotions and drama that come along with this. It's good when you try to communicate and work together as a team, but if people are trying to pull rank on you or treat you like an idiot then I wouldn't just mute them but also report them for being assholes. I understand that with ranked there is some type of virtual honor and rank at stake, but honestly it's virtual and not real. Oh you're a top 500 player? Good for you but honestly do you think that people will treat you like royalty because you have a high rank? Maybe inside a weird gaming community but outside you're just another guy or girl like the rest of us! You're not special and you're not amazing, you're just another person trying to make something of your life. Get over it!

Reacties

Populaire posts van deze blog

Button bashing

Movie Monday: Mr & Mrs Smith

Sinful Sunday: Why are you so serious?