Sequels we didn't ask for but got anyway

Certain games and movies are so good that they don't need a sequel, well maybe if you were certain that this sequel would be just as good or maybe even better than the first game or movie but there is no guarantee for that so I bet a lot of people would prefer not to see a sequel. Unfortunately we often do get that sequel and a lot of times it sucks!

Why do we get a sequel?

The easy answer is that it's an attempt to make more money of the same stuff. Why let something go when you can make so much more money with it? It makes sense, but the fans are often not that happy with this. Not only does this sometimes lead to some horrible sequels, it sometimes also taints the original game or movie. Of course it's great when the sequel is good, but do we really always need a sequel? No I don't think so! I mean look at the movie the Crow, an amazing movie and absolutely one of my favourites. I'm not even saying that the sequel was bad, but it didn't stand a chance against the first movie and to be honest the first movie was so good nothing could ever beat that. So why make a sequel? Oh right, money... Unfortunately games aren't better, we get sequels with games as well and those aren't always as good as we would like them to be. Just look at Dragon Age 2, it's not a bad game but compare that to Dragon Age: Origins and Dragon Age 2 can't even stand in the shadow of that game. Bioware made up for that with  Dragon Age: Inquisition, so I would like to add that not every sequel is bad.

Some sequels are better than the original game or movie?

That might seem strange to you but it's true, there are game and movie sequels that actually beat the original game or movie. For example Borderlands 2 is better than Borderlands, mostly thanks to the fantastic villain Jack. Batman Arkham City is better than Batman Arkham Asylum, because in the sequel you get more freedom and you get to play as Catwoman! With movies it also happens when the sequel is better than the first movie. For example the empire strikes back is better than a new hope, ok they're part of a trilogy but it's still the sequel to the first Star Wars movie. Terminator 2 is better than the Terminator, Arnold now as the good guy in the sequel and the very dangerous T-1000 made a good movie even better! So sequels aren't always a problem, sometimes they can actually be better than the original movie. But usually it's the other way around.

So should you be happy when a game or movie gets a sequel?

I think it's a good idea to just wait and see if it's going to be good. It's easy to judge before you even know what the game or movie is about. I think we do that way too much these days, we see a bit here and there and we already have our judgement ready. A lot of games and movies will surprise you, especially if you weren't certain about that game or movie. I like giving games and movies a chance, unless everything I've seen and heard about the game or movie is something I don't like. But don't be too quick with your judgement, sometimes it's worth it to take a chance. Something that's good can be better, unfortunately it's usually not better. I guess all we can do is hope for the best and pray that it's not going to suck!

Reacties

Populaire posts van deze blog

Button bashing

Movie Monday: Mr & Mrs Smith

Sinful Sunday: Why are you so serious?