Movie Monday: Keeping up with the Joneses

It's always a gamble if a comedy is actually going to be funny, I don't really care what the critics or other people say because when it comes to humour it's not a guarantee that what one person thinks is funny is also funny to someone else. Keeping up with the Joneses is actually pretty funny, it's not the type of comedy that makes you laugh incredibly hard but it definitely has some fun moments. 

No more boring life?

Enter the life of Jeff and Karen Gaffney, just your average couple with kids and living in a quiet neighbourhood. But things get a bit more interesting when they get new neighbours, the Joneses. Tim and Natalie Jones seem to be a very happy and succesful couple but something seems to be not right about them. But once Jeff and Karen figure out who they really are it's too late to go back to the quiet life and some interesting and funny moments with the two couples happen. I'm actually happy that they didn't dive too quickly into the discovery of who the Joneses really are, I mean of course you realize that there is something up but you don't know if they're good or bad and who they're working for. The first hour has a bigger focus on getting to know the characters and that's cool, maybe some want the action to kick in but the movie is absolutely not boring in the first half. The part in the snake restaurant is a good example of that!

Laughing out loud or just a giggle?

I can't speak for other people but there were some really funny moments, especially towards the end (no spoilers) things got even funnier. How funny really depends on the person, I mean we don't all have the same type of humour so what one person likes the other might not like. I think that the movie definitely has some funny moments but there are also moments where things are a bit less funny for me but other people might enjoy that. But don't mistake that as this movie not being funny at all, because it is!

Is it worth checking out this movie?

I think it is, I at least really enjoyed watching it and eventhough it's probably not the type of movie you want to watch multiple times it's absolutely worth checking it out once or twice. So maybe this movie is more a movie you want to rent instead of buy, but it's funny and definitely worth watching if you're looking for something new. 

Reacties

Populaire posts van deze blog

Button bashing

Movie Monday: Mr & Mrs Smith

Sinful Sunday: Why are you so serious?