Overwatch Anniversary event is a bit disappointing?

Just like many other people I played Overwatch, well I still play it but yesterday I was disappointed with the new event. Why? Because there is no new game mode, no new highlight intros or victory stances and all the dance emotes are only available during the event so this means either pay up some serious money to get them all or you'll have to accept that you're not getting a lot of those dance emotes.

What's new in the event?

You get three new maps, but they're only for the 1 vs 1 and 3 vs 3 game modes. Since I hate these game modes, they're full of people that are in groups, play extremely cowardly or rage quit the moment things don't go their way. Is that fun to play? Nope! At least not for a solo queue player. The new maps looks amazing though, so it's a real shame that this is only for these game modes because I would love to check them out more. You finally get the laugh and sitting animation for Sombra and also for Orisa. I also noticed that Reaper got a new emote, shrug, and I think Tracer also got a new emote, next to her dance emote. Talking about dance emotes, every character has his or her own dance emote and some look really cool! If you've seen the Phara dance emote then you know what I mean! My problem with these dance emotes is that they're only available during the event, which is three weeks. Even if you would play the game ten hours a day, I know some people actually do that, then it would still be unlikely that you got most of the dance emotes. You can try to buy loot boxes but the drop rate in those boxes aren't really in your favour and who wants to spend a hundred Dollars or Euros on loot boxes, again. Let's not forget that rare items, these dance emotes are rare items, during an event are three times as expensive so instead of 250 gold you have to pay 750 gold. This is a real disappointment for me because this means that I won't get all the dance emotes and that's a shame because I think most players would like to get all of them. Then there are also new skins and those skins look weird, at least that's my opinion. I seriously don't like them, the Hanzo (cyber ninja skin) legendary skin looks good but most of the others are a bit too flashy for me. I guess that's my luck, which means I can spend as much gold on the dance emotes and not on skins! There is also a new rule in 1 vs 1 and 3 vs 3, if the match goes on for too long a capture point will appear in the middle of the map and the person or team that captures that point first wins if it's not decided with a kill. This is a great solution to people that like to camp in their spawn, something that is very frustrating.

Why are you so disappointed?

Because I expected more, a new game mode and a lot more new stuff. I mean where is the legendary Reaper skin? Of course Tracer gets another legendary skin but other characters just don't get that. Just look at Soldier 76, he got his first legendary skin since launch. While Tracer has gotten five new legendary skins, I think that says everything about that! I also don't like the fact that there are no new highlight intros or victory stances. So now whenever I get a blue and grey loot from a loot box I know it's going to be something I absolutely don't want, oh right voice lines and sprays but considering how cheap they are I doubt anyone is worried about not getting one of those! Maybe I've been spoiled, we've gotten so many things that we could unlock and this is the first time that I can't really be excited about a new event. Perhaps it's just me, but I bet there are more people who expected more from this event. I seriously hope that the dance emotes become available also after the event because it really sucks that you get such a short time to get that many expensive items. We don't all have a fortune to spend on a game Blizzard! The new maps are cool but if they're for a game mode I don't like to play then it doesn't really matter because I doubt I will play that a lot. I would rather play any other game mode in the arcade than 1 vs 1 and 3 vs 3. I don't think the event is bad, I just wished it was a bit different and offered more than ridiculous skins and dance emotes. Oh well maybe the next event will be better...

Reacties

Populaire posts van deze blog

Button bashing

Movie Monday: Mr & Mrs Smith

Sinful Sunday: Why are you so serious?