Sinful Sunday: You should be ashamed to be a gamer?

When people ask me what my hobbies are then I will tell them that playing games is one of my hobbies. Some people will then immediately give you this look like your some type of vermin that just crawled out of the sewer and pretty much consider you as such. It seems that gamers got a bad name, but why? Is it really that bad to be a gamer? I don't think so!

Why do some people look down on gamers?

There are people that think that gamers are losers, people that have no life and waste all their time on playing games. They have no friends, no social life, they're immature and they're pathetic. At least that what I've heard so far. The prejudice is there, but most people would probably not say that to your face. But why? Why are people getting this is idea of gamers? The main reason is because a lot of people who see gamers this way have never played a game themselves and their opinion is strongly based on what some loud mouth screams on tv. Gamers are supposedly dumb, but when you ask scientists then a lot of studies point out that gamers are often smarter than people who never play games. Why? Because gamers are often faced with problems or issues in a game and have to solve them, this forces you mind to find solutions and is a good training for your brain. If you do this from a young age then that can have a positive effect for example with problem solving. This doesn't mean that every gamer is a genius, but it's stupid to think that every gamer is dumb. Then there are people that think that gamers are lazy. Well some gamers are lazy, but that doesn't just restrict to gamers but to all kind of people with all kinds of hobbies. Are chess players super active? No their hobby also requires them to sit, so don't expect a lot of gamers to be jumping around in front of their tv. But the big difference is that gamers actually do have options with this. There are fitness games or party games that will require you to be more active in front of the tv. This might not interest every gamer but the option is there. So it's not right to say that every gamer is lazy, some gamers are actually quite active and even have games that require them to be active. But when you look at for example YouTubers that post a lot of gaming videos then you know that they don't do nothing, they have busy lives and have a lot to do to get new content. Sure gamers might not be running a marathon but do office workers do that, are tennis players known for doing that? The reason why some people look down on gamers is because they don't know much about gaming and so have a wrong picture of gamers, this is fed by idiots that spew their filth on tv about gaming and they probably know even less about gaming. I'm not saying that gamers are saints or amazing people, but we are people just like everyone else and nothing better or worse than anyone else.

Are you ashamed to be a gamer?

I'll be honest with you, as a teenager I wasn't that comfortable to admit that I played games when I was talking to girls. You should keep in mind that this was in the nineties when gaming wasn't considered as cool and I pretty much got the idea that if I mention that I'm a gamer that girls wouldn't be interested in me anymore. Of course that was dumb to think but as a teenager you do dumb things. I would never really keep it as a big secret but I wouldn't be so open about it as I am now. The thing is that you shouldn't be ashamed, because gaming is a hobby and eventhough some might not like it but you do and that's what's important! I'm not saying you should stand on your rooftop and shout to the world that you're a gamer but when someone asks what your hobbies are then you don't have to feel ashamed that you're a gamer. Even if gaming still has a bad name in certain circles you shouldn't let that keep you from being yourself, people who can't accept that you're a gamer aren't even worth your time so why waste time pretending to be someone you're not? If playing games makes you happy then that's what important and if your boyfriend or girlfriend can't accept that then this person might not be the right person for you. Be yourself and be happy, that's what's important in life!

Reacties

Populaire posts van deze blog

Button bashing

Movie Monday: Mr & Mrs Smith

Sinful Sunday: Why are you so serious?