Sinful Sunday: Your girlfriend beats your highscore

It seems childish but for me this would be a bad thing, it's not that I wouldn't be happy for her that she did great but I would have to hear how she beat my highscore every day for a long time! Besides I find it annoying to see someone else with a higher score in my list of friends. So it's not just a girlfriend thing, I prefer to have the best score among my friends. Why? Well why settle with second or lower when you can be first!


Is it really so bad when someone else beats your highscore?


I wouldn't call it bad, but if you still play that game then you'll be confronted with the high score of someone else and a lot of games keep track of the highscores of you and your friends. So unless you truly don't care about such things it's easy to feel the need to beat the highscore of a friend just so you get the top spot among your friends. If these are online friends then it doesn't even have to bother you, because you only talk with them when you play games together. But when they're friends you also see offline or it's your boyfriend/girlfriend then it's more in your face, especially when they're the type that like to rub it in that they beat your highscore.


But what makes it so bad to lose to your girlfriend?


I guess it's some primitive part in your brain where you have to be the strong one and thus have to be better in most things you do, even in a game. I know it sounds ridiculous and yet it's very much active when it happens. I remember in Mario Party 4 that my girlfriend beat my highscore in the book game, you have to slip through holes in the pages and my highscore was 24 at that time. So she starts playing and beats my highscore with 25 pages. It's not just that she teased me with that or the fact that she beat my highscore, it's that she did it with just one page. I mean if she crushed my highscore with twenty extra pages I wouldn't even bother trying because I know I wouldn't be able to beat that. But it's that one extra page, so enough reason for me to play the game again and try to beat that score. Well it took me a couple of hours, yes I can be a fanatic about these things, but I beat her score and raised the highscore to 27. Oh sure there are probably people who can do much better but among my friends I had the highest score and that was good enough for me. My girlfriend was a bit sad I beat her highscore, probably because she couldn't tease me with that anymore.


Should you really try to beat the highscore of your girlfriend?


Well I don't see a reason why you shouldn't, unless your girlfriend also doesn't take losing as good as you. At that point it might be smarter to let certain things go, at least if you want to keep things smooth between you two. But it doesn't have to be a bad thing, it can be a fun challenging thing where you try to beat eachother and that can be a lot of fun in some games. I would recommend not to be a fanatic like me to play for hours just to beat the highscore of your girlfriend, that doesn't really show your mature side and I doubt your girlfriend will appreciate that. Sometimes you just have to give something to someone else, let him or her enjoy the moment and maybe you get your chance to beat him or her another time. Perhaps in another game or later in the same game, in the end it's not really about winning but having a fun time playing games together.

Reacties

Populaire posts van deze blog

Button bashing

Movie Monday: Mr & Mrs Smith

Sinful Sunday: Why are you so serious?