Sinful Sunday: Gamers are more agressive?

There´s probably some asshole out there that claims this but instead of trying to be mister by the book I´m going to be mister speaks from experience. Because all you have to do is play a multiplayer game where you´ll encounter other people. The worst is of course complete strangers because then you don´t know what you can expect and unfortunately that sometimes leads to unpleasant encounters.


Are gamers more agressive these days?


Well not everyone of course, but I have noticed in certain games that random encounters with other players aren´t always pleasant encounters. I´m talking about people that attack you for just getting near them, sometimes a quest takes you to a spot and there happens to be another player there so it´s not like you´re looking for trouble. Even when they can´t hurt you there are people that see it as their duty to annoy you, because why enjoy yourself playing the game when you can be an asshole to other people? But let´s not forget the ´tough´ guys that talk shit in the lobby before a match, maybe it´s part of the game but to be honest I could do without it.


Why are gamers more agressive?


I bet some people would claim it´s because of the violence in games, but no matter how many people I kill in a game it doesn´t turn me into a violent person. People these days are just more and more like assholes. That isn´t restricted to just games, assholes are everywhere and some of them happen to play games. But it´s strange how sometimes little things can already set someone off, I guess people these days just have less tolerance and are much quicker upset about certain things. Once again this isn´t just restricted to gamers, this happens everywhere.


What does this mean for the future of gaming?


Who knows, maybe it means that online multiplayer is now the playground for trolls and assholes. Which means more decent players will prefer to play single player games or play only with their friends or people they know from a clan. It´s a shame though if that´s how it´s going to be. I always liked the idea that you could play with anyone at any time, but I guess that comes with risks and when people start behaving like raving lunatics then I can definitely understand that some people prefer to play solo or only with people they know.

Reacties

Populaire posts van deze blog

Button bashing

Movie Monday: Mr & Mrs Smith

Sinful Sunday: Why are you so serious?