Looking back at.....games of 2014!

Do you think 2014 was a good year for games? I´m certain that there are some that would say yes and some that would say no, maybe not always for the best reasons but personal experience can sometimes mean a big difference. For example buying a couple of bad or boring games can definitely influence your thoughts over games in 2014 while one great game can make you forget about all the bad games. But what does that mean for 2014?


I think a lot of people still remember flappy bird, the game a lot of people hate and got probably a lot more people addicted to the simple but challenging game. But as quickly as it appeared it also disappeared, which is a shame because the reason for that (too much negativity that made the creator want to stop) is not worth it! But 2014 is also the year of (over)hyped games, for example Watchdogs and Destiny. Especially Watchdogs got a lot of shit when it came out, it wasn´t what the majority thought it would be and so it was a bad game. Eventhough it´s actually a fun game to play, but with the wrong expectations you might be in for some disappointment! And Destiny? This is probably the most loved and hated game at the same time, I don´t think I´ve heard people talk more shit about a game and at the same time see so many people addicted to a game like that in 2014. I must admit that I had my month of fun but sooner or later it gets old, which is why I like to switch things up a bit.


Unfortunately 2014 is also the year where populair games had issues from day 1, something you might want to prevent at all costs when you´re a developer! Both Assassin´s Creed Unity and the Master Chief Collection had (some issues still seem to cause problems) issues which made it almost impossible to play the game and have a good time. Faces that disappear in Assassin´s Creed Unity and long waiting times in multiplayer matchmaking in the Master Chief Collection made those games more frustrating than fun, which ruined the games for a lot of people and made people doubt the developers. People these days are quite touchy about certain things but I can´t blame for being upset about this, because when you buy a new game you expect it to work and not get a load of bollocks!


My highlight of the year was finally getting the Xbox One that also became available in my country (5th of September), I had to wait almost a year after the launch in countries like the USA and the UK but finally I could play the games I really wanted to play (for example Dead Rising 3). But I could also play games on a better console (which sometimes means early acces to dlc and better graphics), for example Destiny and Dragon Age: Inquisition.


At the end of the year you also saw GTA V return on the next gen consoles, somehow people still love that game and I guess the extra items did help sell it. So it wouldn´t surprise me if we see more last gen games pop up on the next gen consoles, the last of us did that on the PS 4 and there will be more of that I´m certain! One game I can already mention and that is the Gamecube version of Resident Evil that will be available in early 2015 on the next gen consoles.


Was 2014 a good year for games? To keep it safe I´ll say yes and no, because it wasn´t all bad and as much as I love some games I can´t deny that 2014 brought you some serious garbage games. Hopefully 2015 will be better, without games that have issues from the start and games that dare to be different. Because as much fun as one genre might be (fps, to name one), it gets boring when you see so many games in that genre and hardly anything else in other genres. But no matter what changes, people will always find something to whine about and that will never change!



Reacties

Populaire posts van deze blog

Button bashing

Movie Monday: Mr & Mrs Smith

Sinful Sunday: Why are you so serious?