R.I.P. Kinect?

With the news that the Xbox One will become available without the Kinect and is a lot cheaper without it, but let´s not forget that they might also be able to boost the power of the Xbox One without the Kinect, I can´t help but wonder what this will mean for the Kinect. Because developers will probably prefer to be able to make their games better on an improved Xbox One than to include Kinect in their games which is something not a lot of people seem to use anyway. So in other words, R.I.P. Kinect?


Who uses the Kinect anyway? Well not me, I never bought it for the Xbox 360 and I had no intention of using it when I buy the Xbox One. But now with the news that the Xbox One will be available without the Kinect and is a lot cheaper I don´t see any reason to get the Kinect! Sure there are some games that make use of the Kinect and other games are only playable with the Kinect, but I can´t say that there has ever been a game for the Kinect that I had to play. Nor do I believe that there ever will be a game that I have to play that is only playable with the Kinect. I seriously doubt people would rather pay a hundred Dollars/Euros more to have the Xbox One with the Kinect, so it seems that the people that will use the Kinect are going to be fastly outnumbered. Which makes me believe that there won´t be a lot of games for the Kinect in the future, especially if Microsoft will abandon the Kinect so easily to boost their own console and try to convince people to buy their console.


Creepy stalker or helpful friend? The Kinect camera has been the point of many discussions, some find it useful and others don´t like it at all! I never really thought about the chance that my Kinect camera could be used as a way for others to spy on me but then again that can be fixed by putting something over the camera. Still it would be disturbing that people could spy on you, something that people won´t like and will definately influence people when thinking of buying the Kinect. But it´s nice that the Kinect can recognize you and will respond to your voice, well that is if everything works and I´ve heard several stories from people where things didn´t work! I think the idea of the Kinect is interesting but I haven´t seen a version of the Kinect that made me want to buy it.


We´re not ready for something like the Kinect? Maybe, maybe not. I do know that I grew up with consoles and I use controllers, I don´t like standing in front of the Kinect camera and make weird gestures to make progress in a game or to select something. There is nothing wrong with my hands and as long as I can use a controller I don´t see the need to use something like the Kinect! Maybe it´s something for the future, when we´re all too fat and lazy to do anything and control everything with the sound of your voice. But until that time is here I think I´m quite alright with my controller!

Reacties

Populaire posts van deze blog

Button bashing

Movie Monday: Mr & Mrs Smith

Sinful Sunday: Why are you so serious?