The X-mas spirit is all about modesty?

So we´re on the second day of X-mas, instead of talking about violent games or some other disturbing stuff I thought to stay close to the spirit of X-mas. I might be wrong but I think I remember something about being happy with what you have and don´t pretend you´re more than you really are. This kind of points towards modesty, right? Guess what I hardly ever see when I read the profiles of other gamers, hear the loud noises of other players in lobbies or when you pick your average youtube gaming video? A lot of people seem to be full of themselves, of course not everyone is that serious about it but when a stranger talks big then you assume that he or she is probably serious about it. At least there is no way of being certain about it, but sometimes it´s easier to assume that someone is as he or she says he or she is. If you question everything it´s probably better to dig a hole and jump in...argh I did make it disturbing!

You´re good at playing games, why are you boasting about it? Something I still find weird is when people talk about being good at playing games and then consider that as being God´s greatest gift. If you put a professional athlete, a nobel price winner and a professional gamer next to eachother then I seriously doubt that the gamer means shit to anyone. Hell you don´t even need the other two to get to that result, gaming might be popular but there are still plenty of people who don´t like it. Let´s say you go out and you´re trying to hit on a girl, are you really going to mention that you´re good at playing games? You might fool yourself that this might have succes but I seriously doubt that. Sometimes people get lucky, for example someone who meets a girl who also loves playing games or someone that gets some youtube fame and so ends up with a nice girl. It happens and I won´t deny that it doesn´t, but let´s just be honest about that and say that this is a small chance of actually happening!

Those that have to prove the hardest how good they are usually suck balls? Well not literally, at least as far as I know, but yes this need to put MLG everywhere on your profile and talking big in lobbies usually only proves how much of a douchebag you are. Respect is something you earn and even then people won´t always give you what you want, demanding respect by being a moron won´t get you anything good! I see a lot of people in CoD Ghosts with this whole MLG bullshit, oh I´m so good and I´m going to kick your ass type of crap. But let´s have a close look at these ´special´ gamers. Most of the time they camp, hang around with their boyfriend(s) being a cowardly douchebag, play on secondary accounts because they´re too scared to play on their main account, use overpowered weapons and use cheap tricks like dropshot kills (even when they shoot you in the back they do that). But let´s not forget the heroes who actually have some skill and still play in core mode, if you´re so good as you say you are then you play on hardcore. Only a cowardly little bitch would keep playing on core when you know you have enough skill to play on hardcore! Yes we have some serious MLG talent here!

Whatever happened to just having fun in a game? I´ll probably sound like an old asshole but I remember twenty years ago you just played games for fun, it didn´t really matter who was good and who was bad. Sure you could laugh if someone missed a jump in Mario but there was by far not as much verbal abuse as you have these days. I guess online gaming has changed a lot, suddenly it´s all about being the best and fuck the rest. As much fun as it can be to play with your friends or even strangers online, that´s also how annoying and frustrating it can be. Maybe it´s because all types of age groups play against eachother and sometimes people of different ages don´t play so well together. Not that I have anything against playing with or against kids but I know that this isn´t my age group and I feel more comfortable playing against adults. Not that adults are so mature, oh hell no!!! But I do believe that you have a better gaming experience playing with people around your own age, so it´s nice if that would be an option when you look for a match in a multiplayer game. I´m not saying that games these days are less fun, but I´m saying that the multiplayer experience can be a good way to ruin your fun. Not just because some people are douchebags, sometimes you just don´t fit in a certain match.

So let´s try to keep it civilized, oops too late, and have fun. Also be fucking modest about your skills. Yes that would be an X-mas miracle, which probably means that it will never happen.... Well shit......

Reacties

Populaire posts van deze blog

Button bashing

Movie Monday: Mr & Mrs Smith

Sinful Sunday: Why are you so serious?