Kids playing mature (18+) games

I know that I´ve talked before about being social online, but whenever I hear some 12 year old in the CoD Black Ops 2 multiplayer or zombie mode lobby I can´t help but want to mute them. Because most of the time they´ll be misbehaving for no good reason and their whole presence is just unwanted (even forbidden) in the game. I´m not saying that kids shouldn´t play games, there is nothing wrong with that but why are they playing mature games? Isn´t there someone that watches what they´re doing? I remember when I was twelve that the moment I started screaming at the screen, usually Mario games that made me upset because I just died before the end of a level, I had one of my parents come in my room and turn of the tv. That doesn´t mean that I was happy about it but I did learn not to react so strongly on a game, so later in life it does help me control my bad temper when facing cowards or annoying people. But not the kids of today, when they´re online I hear things I probably didn´t even know at that age.

So why are kids playing these mature games? That´s a good question and I think there are two possible answers for that. First of all how do they get these games? Well often someone that does have the right age buys the games for them, this could be their parents or a friend/family member that does have the right age. But this is assuming that the place where they buy the mature games actually doesn´t sell mature games to kids. I´m not going to pull the bad parenting card here, raising a kid isn´t easy and I don´t even want to think about raising a teenager. I don´t think it´s a suprise for most middle aged people to see that kids these days aren´t like the kids they were or that they knew as a child. Kids have definately become more vocal and with the government and others sticking their nose into how someone should and shouldn´t raise a kid, it´s not a suprise that some parents feel cramped in their parenting methods. Can you slap a kid when he or she did something bad? Should bad behaviour be punished severly or just give a warning? It´s not easy making decisions and you probably never want to be as strict as your parents were, so finding a silver lining might be tricky. But back to the question, why are kids playing these mature games? Well kids play mature games because they find them more interesting, either from their own choice or because their friends play these games and they don´t want to fall behind. Nobody wants to be the kid at school that doesn´t have the cool games and be considered a sad loser, of course this is based on nothing but utter bullocks but as a kid this might make school time even worse. Another reason why kids like to play games is to annoy others, a lot of times I hear kids singing or playing music through their headset just to annoy the crap out of other people. Sending insults through text messages is nothing new as well, often they hope someone will response so they can waste their time by saying more hurtful things without having any real reason for this behaviour. As you might notice when you turn on the tv and watch some crime program, you´ll hear the stories where kids or teenagers attacked someone just because they were bored. I don´t really know why it´s so much fun to make the lives of others miserable, maybe there is just something seriously wrong with the world or this is just the type of world we live in. But thinking about kids these days as the adults of the future puts a grim picture in my mind.

What´s the best thing you can do when you encounter kids in a mature game? I guess you can be a good citizen and report them, but is it really your business to do so? I think the best thing you can do is just mute them, if you get messages then you block that person if you don´t like it. It´s not worth it getting mad because some sad kid is annoying you, it only makes the kid happy and you more unhappy. Usually you should have better luck finding mature players, though age doesn´t always say everything, later in the evening. What you shouldn´t do is falling for their lame attempts to make you mad, there are no winners in that situation. I know all too well how annoying they can be, saying things that they should be ashamed of but nothing you do or say will change that. It´s not your problem so there is no need to make it your problem. The mute and block options can make your life a lot easier, so don´t hesitate to use them when you feel like someone is harassing you! You don´t want to go into a discussion with a kid who the biggest loser is, that won´t make you look more mature and it´s a discussion that will never end. Someone on youtube has made videos about encountering kids in Black Ops and in Black Ops 2. He provokes them and annoys them in return, which is funny to watch but I still don´t think it´s the best way to deal with it. Maybe it makes you feel better but I doubt it will last for long, just ignore people that annoy or bother you. It´s an easy and simple method to keep the troublemakers out and the fun in the game!

Is there something someone could do about this? Since it´s going to be difficult to keep kids from getting mature games, they´ll get them sooner or later anyway, I´d say it´s better to have a different online server for kids. When you make your account on Xboxlive or PSN then you have to fill in your date of birth, so if the game could scan that and then place you among people of your own age that would be great! Of course it should be so that once you put in your date of birth that it can´t be changed anymore, otherwise people could still take advantage of it. The kid server should only be for people under the age of 18, other players above this age play on the mature server. It might seem like a lot of trouble but I think it´s a good way to keep kids and adults separated if it gives too much problems in a game. Is it really the best solution? Oh I wouldn´t go that far, it´s just something I´ve been thinking about. I just get the idea when people don´t play nice together, that it´s better to keep them separated then allow them to keep meeting eachother. I´m not saying that you can´t be friend with people who are older or younger than you, but it´s probably better to have friends around your own age!

Reacties

Populaire posts van deze blog

Button bashing

Movie Monday: Mr & Mrs Smith

Sinful Sunday: Why are you so serious?