Installing games

In my NES, Super NES and N64 days it was easy to put in a cartridge and you could play. Later with the discs that didn´t really change, well you could get scratches on it and that would mess with the quality and also you game could freeze. So actually installing a game helps you protect your game, it doesn´t get damaged because it´s installed on your harddrive, and it doesn´t freeze that often. So why wouldn´t you like installing games on your harddrive?

Well I can´t speak for everyone but I know that for me installing games takes quite some time, that´s time I´d rather spend playing the game instead of looking at a download screen. I guess you do have to be a bit patient for this method, because I doubt you can install games that fast that it´s not bothersome. So installing GTA V is going to take some hours, I know that I´d rather play the game but unfortunately it´s required. Which really sucks, because I´d rather have it so that you choose if you want to install a game or if you want to use the disc. Probably the game will run a lot better now that it´s partly installed, disc two is still needed for playing the game though. So maybe this is a step towards the future, not actually how some developers would like to see it but at least a step in that direction.

What do gamers prefer, hardware copy or digital copy? As far as I´ve heard it a lot of people prefer to have a hardware copy of the game in their hands instead of downloading it, so maybe the future of only buying the digital copy might not be ready yet. At least that´s how things are looking now, maybe with the new consoles that could change. I think when the benefits of the digital copy clearly outshine the benefits of a hardware copy, then people might prefer the digital copy. Maybe it´s just something people prefer, to have an actual game in their hands and that they can share with friends. Either way, a lot of people install games and that seems to become more and more natural for gamers. I think I might actually be one of the few gamers who doesn´t do that, not just because it takes a lot of time but also because I just don´t have the space for it on my harddrive. I had to get rid of a lot of dlc to make room for GTA V. In the end you´ll probably save time and frustration by installing a game. Because as far as I heard it you have faster loading screens and less freezing moments in your game, something I had a lot with Saints Row IV! So I definately see a reason to install a game, I just wish it would go faster and that every console gets a lot of harddrive space from the moment you buy it.

I know that I´m old fashioned, I´ll probably be stubborn enough to be one of these hardware gamers for a long time. But I must admit that the benefits of a digital copy are definately getting bigger and if I actually had a lot of space on my harddrive I´d probably install more games. I´m glad that the new consoles are available from the start with a lot of space on their harddrive, which gives you a lot of room to install games and dlc. The Xbox 360 came much later with this, so everyone that bought one from the early days got a crappy tiny spaced harddrive on their Xbox 360. Not really suited for the installation of games, so it´s been tricky over the years to install and play dlc so I never thought of games. I wonder if other people also have or had any difficulties with that? Maybe some upgraded and bought a Xbox 360 with a bigger harddrive, but that always seemed ridiculous to me. I wouldn´t buy the same console twice just for some more space on my harddrive, but I definately see the benefit of having that in the future. So I´d actually be willing to spend more money to have that instead of buying a cheap one with less space on the harddrive.

Reacties

Populaire posts van deze blog

Button bashing

Movie Monday: Mr & Mrs Smith

Sinful Sunday: Why are you so serious?