Gaming community, a toxic shit stain in an online world?

Have you ever read the comments under a youtube video about a game or console? If you haven't then by all means check it out if you want to see the scum of the earth put their useless and mindless commentary. I just saw a review video of CoD: WW 2 and it seems that the majority in the comment section trips over one or two things the commenter said and it really makes me wonder if this is all we have out there. Is this the gaming community? Are these the people that I play games with online? Are these the same people that love to play games like me? I just can't believe it, what the fuck happened that things turned so bad?

The loudest people in the comment section don't represent the gaming community?

The problem with YouTube comments is that usually the loudest and most obnoxious comments get likes so they're constantly in the picture, but the more decent comments are lost at the bottom because hardly anyone likes those. Which does pretty much paint a picture of the community being a toxic shit stain, but honestly it's just a small group that is very loud and gets way too much attention. Apparently some people find it funny to listen to these people or read their comments. This already makes me lose hope in the future of the human race, when things like this are constantly in the spotlight. I realy wish that the decent gamers in the gaming community would be more loud, to speak up and say that the douchebags don't represent everyone. But unfortunately that doesn't happen or at least doesn't happen enough. Which creates this sad picture of the gaming community being a toxic shit stain and that honestly makes me sad, because I care about gaming community and how it used to be and seeing it turn into something bad really makes me want to step out of this rotten community. Since when was it funny to be an absolute dickhead online? Maybe I don't understand the joke but it really sucks when people treat other people like shit just because they disagree or have this urge to be a douchebag to others because they don't like something they said.

Getting mad without a real reason?

These days people get mad for no real reason at all. Someone gets only one sugar cube in their tea when they ordered two and all hell breaks loose. The same I saw happen in that CoD: WW 2 review comment section. People getting mad because the reviewer said something about there being two gender and that all races are represented in the game. Somehow some people put the focus on that and made it bigger than it really was. Ok so you disagree with something someone said, there are other ways of talking about that but no there are people that have to be as loud and obnoxious as they can about it. I try to see things from both sides but if one side sounds like a whining asshole then it's really difficult to see their point of view. If someone was truly hurt or troubled with what the reviewer said then you don't have to be an obnoxious piece of shit about it! I guess it didn't help that the reviewer is a woman so then all the sad sacks of shit considered that as even worse. Which once again showed how sad some part of the gaming community is. Because a woman shouldn't be allowed to review a game like CoD: WW 2. Honestly, are we back in the dark ages where women had no rights and were treated like meat? Sometimes I really wish I could find out who this sad sack of shit is who says these dumb things online and beat the absolute crap out of this douchebag. Unfortunately that would make me as bad as that douchebag, but it sure would make me feel better!

The gaming community isn't all bad?

I hope so, I honestly hope it's not as bad as it sometimes look. I want to believe that there are still decent people, people that treat others with at least some respect. We don't all have to agree and be friends, but at least treat eachother with some respect. If you think a game is bad or a console is bad then put some arguments on the table, just saying this or that is shit just makes you look like an idiot. An idiot that apparently gets likes for saying dumb things but that pretty much also says a lot about websites like YouTube and some of the people that are active there. It's not easy to find decent people online, to find a like minded gamer that wants to have fun just like you. It seems simple but unfortunately it's not. But before you want to give up on the gaming community please keep in mind that not everyone is bad, it might seem that way when the loudest comments or voices online sound like absolute douchebags but they don't speak for everyone. I wouldn't hold it against you if you prefer to play single player games and stay away from anything that involves other players, these days that's probably the safest way to have some fun in a game. But like I said before not the entire gaming community is rotten, just a small loud part of it. Don't let them be the defining voice for the entire community, because the gaming community is everyone that enjoys playing games!

Reacties

Populaire posts van deze blog

Button bashing

Movie Monday: Mr & Mrs Smith

Sinful Sunday: Why are you so serious?