Fortnite, slowly losing interest in a game that's fun

Let me first say that Fortnite is a game that is a lot of fun, it can really give you a lot of things to do and it's one of those games where playing with others can actually be a fun experience. But for all the fun I've had in this game I have to admit that I'm losing interest in the game, I see myself just going for the daily quest and farm some pure drop of rain from the mutant storms (only there during the survive the storm event) and that's about it. It's a shame but I think I will take a break from this game or continue this log in bonus grabbing and get out to play another game playstyle for now.

What's wrong with Fortnite?

A lot and at the same time not that much. Ok the lag you experience when someone joins your game is ridiculous, I mean it literally freezes your screen for several seconds and can even make you crash which is really annoying. A lot of the disconnect issues have been patched but it still happens sometimes and eventhough you can join the match you were in or gather your rewards without too much trouble it's still lame that this happens. On the surface Fortnite looks like a fun game you can play and it is in a way. But dive deeper in the game and you can see a lot of things that aren't working so well. For example certain missions, two missions that I hate and apparently a lot of other people as well are repair the shelter and evacuate the shelter, because some missions are so hated that there is hardly anyone playing them. Which means you will have to do it alone, ask for help and hope that someone is willing to help without asking for a reward or finding other people who have to do the same mission as you. You can easily be stuck for a week on one of these missions if there is no one else that plays the same mission, because doing some of these annoying missions on your own is very difficult! Then there is the constant grind for pure drop of rain and experience in general. The fact that you have to gather three different types of experience and don't earn all three types on each missions makes the grind even longer and more frustrating. Weapons break down even faster if your hero dies and that happens a lot on higher level missions when no one else wants to help or completely ignore the objective. Which brings me to the community, some people can be nice and I've played matches with some fun people. But there are also a lot of annoying people that want troll, leech or just be completely useless. I've seen people break down the defenses for the objective in a mission which almost meant failure for all of us. Then there are unpleasant people that want to bark orders at you while they do very little. It's safe to say that not everyone is fun to play with in Fortnite, which would be fine if there would be more missions you could play on your own but the way things are looking now that seems highly unlikely with certain missions. I get the feeling that things will only get worse in Canny Valley and Twine Peaks.

Why are you taking a break?

Because I've been playing Fortnite for a long time every day, even if I did collect the log in reward on certain days only I played the game pretty much non-stop since launch. Going through that grind for so long and having little to show for it wears you down. What's worse is when you're on one of those annoying missions, for me it's evacuate the shelter now, and there is just nobody playing this mission and I end up finding empty lobbies all the time. This means I can't continue with my story and all I can do now is just grind, get more resources and prepare for that rare moment that I find other people to help me with that mission. This makes you mentallly exhausted and I'm just looking for the first game to jump to and for me that will be Destiny 2. I wasn't certain if I wanted to buy Destiny 2 but the way I feel now because of my experience in Fortnite makes me want to jump into Destiny 2 really fast! Once again I'm not saying that Fortnite is bad, it offers you a lot and it's definitely fun if you can find a group of people that want to work together with you. But right now the bad is winning from the good in this game, at least that's how I'm seeing and experiencing it. Hopefully things will be better if I take a break for a month or two. Usually things look better after a break and I could definitely use one. Especially after that 14 days (in game days) grind in survive the storm, that was a long four and a half hours that I barely got through. I almost fell asleep and lost because of it. Why? Because my team mates didn't want to build anything, so yeah that was a really fun experience for that long. I like Fortnite but right now I need a break, it's not healthy playing the same game for several months. That's absolutely clear to me now!

Reacties

Populaire posts van deze blog

Button bashing

Movie Monday: Mr & Mrs Smith

Sinful Sunday: Why are you so serious?