Playing with other people or bots?

Whenever I dive into multiplayer I like to first play against bots, not that I don't enjoy playing against other people but I first like to practice a bit on bots if that's possible. I really hate being the noob in the team and failing at almost everything I do, so I first practice a bit on bots until I'm more confident about my skills. At that point I switch to playing against other people, not that this is a guarantee to win but it will often save you from making some dumb mistakes.

Playing against bots is smart?

Not only is it a good way to practice, it's also a good way to get warmed up for multiplayer. Whenever I dive into multiplayer directly without a practice match against bots I often suck, my aim isn't that good and I will often have a slower response time. It usually takes a couple of matches to get ready and be prepared for a match against other people, especially when these people are experienced players. So not only are bots a good way to get better at the game, they also help you get warmed up for the real fights against other people in the game. Sometimes it's also possible to get achievements or trophies in bot matches, so that also improves your chances to get achievements or trophies a lot easier. I mean why go through the frustrating moments with other players when you can face bots and get some easy achievements or trophies?

It's more fun to play against other people?

That really depends, because if you lose a lot of matches against other people then I doubt you're having a lot of fun. But winning a lot of matches against other people can be a lot of fun, it also makes you feel better about yourself. Not that winning against random people gives you the feeling like you're amazing but it does give you a good feeling of succes. It's even more fun to play with friends or friendly people, you know the type that don't yell at you and where things stay friendly and fun during the match. I know that this is rare but once you have matches like that you don't want to go back to bot matches. Because bot matches are often predictable and get boring after some time, which is exactly why I use them to get better at the game and not as my way of earning experience. You usually earn less experience, if you earn experience at all, in bot matches. So it does pay off to play against other people because this is also how the game should be played.

But what if you prefer to play with bots?

Certain games are better with bots, I'll be honest about that. For example the Left 4 Dead games and also Pay Day games are much better with bots than playing with random people. Maybe you get lucky sometimes with some team mates but often you get annoying and frustrating people that turn a fun game into something horrible. Maybe if you can convince your friends to play with you, that would be better than bots, then it would be fun but otherwise I would absolutely stick to bots. Eventhough bots can be incredibly dumb and frustrating in their own way you at least know what you can expect with that, with people every match can be something different and usually not in a good way. But it's worth the risk to try out multiplayer, even if it's a bad experience at least then you know. My advice is to stick to what you prefer, no matter if everyone calls you crazy if you prefer playing with bots then you play with bots. You should play games for fun and if you're not having fun playing with other people then you play with bots if that's possible.

Reacties

Populaire posts van deze blog

Button bashing

Movie Monday: Mr & Mrs Smith

Sinful Sunday: Why are you so serious?