Multiplayer buffs and nerfs, nobody wins?

When you play competitive multiplayer then you will quickly realize which characters and/or weapons are better than others. Of course the developers will try to make things in a way that it's all balanced but lets be honest that is hardly ever true, even if it's true then there will be buffs and nerfs because some people keep whining about certain things and that is the start of the never ending tinkering. My conclusion, nobody wins!

Why does everybody lose with buffs and nerfs?

Because one character and/or weapon is made a bit better but that makes this character and/or weapon better than others, even if it's just a little bit that can already lead to a situation where everyone wants to use that character and/or weapon and so that character and/or weapon will be nerfed later. So you might one moment have an overpowered character and the next moment that character is pretty much useless in certain situations, the same can be said about weapons. Getting to the point of why everyone loses I can say this, the moment you start tinkering with characters and weapons that's the moment where things will never be the same and even if your favourite character or weapon becomes better there will be a time that this will be nerfed because too many people are complaining. So my advice is to enjoy the short moments of joy you have with certain characters or weapons in multiplayer because sooner or later they will be nerfed! So for you to enjoy a character or weapon in multiplayer means that hardly anyone should play with that character or weapon and that it never gets attention in anyway, so you kind of keep it a secret and make it look like the character or weapon is very average. The problem is that nobody can keep that up, because if a character is pretty good then everyone wants to play as that character and get a lot of kills as that character or use that weapon that gives people that many kills. This means it gets noticed by the developers and if enough people complain about it then it gets nerfed, but then a character or weapon that is hated gets a buff and the whole show starts again. As I said before, nobody wins!

Why do developers buff and nerf so much?

It's mostly because of people complaining. Imagine you being a developer and just seeing hundreds if not thousands of messages that complain about a certain character or weapon in your game, you can ignore that or try to do something about it to make people happy. Unfortunately you can't make people happy with buffs and nerfs, at least not everyone. Because you might help some people but you screw over other people. It's a situation where you can't win, because if you buff a certain character people will freak the fuck out and if you nerf a character then some people will go as far as to threaten the developers. Yes things can get that nasty! I just wish developers would leave the game alone unless something was really wrong with the game. Sure it sucks when people keep picking the same character and/or weapon and kick your ass, but instead of whining you could learn to counter that character or find a way to beat someone with a certain weapon. I think that people complain way too fast and this often leads to unnecessary buffs and nerfs in multiplayer, which then screws things up for a lot of people. This is really annoying and frustrating, which doesn't just kill the fun in multiplayer but also leads to more unbalanced characters and weapons in a game. But hey it's the majority that gets things done, so if enough people complain then you know that things change in a game. Which means that the majority of gamers are whiny assholes or that not enough people that play multiplayer and that are fine with how things are in the game voice out their opinion. If developers only see complaints then you can bet your ass on the fact that changes are coming, both good and bad ones. I'm not saying that if there are no complaints that the game never gets a buff or a nerf, but it doesn't help that for every little thing people immediately complain.

Reacties

Populaire posts van deze blog

Button bashing

Movie Monday: Mr & Mrs Smith

Sinful Sunday: Why are you so serious?