Movie Monday: The magnificent seven

As a kid I watched a lot of westerns, mostly thanks to my father that watched a lot of Clint Eastwood movies but also John Wayne movies. One of those popular John Wayne movies is the magnificent seven, which is a pretty good movie and has gotten a remake. This remake pretty much still comes down to the same idea but it's in my opinion a bit rougher and more intense. But does that make it a good movie? Well...let's find out!

Remakes are bad?

I'm not a big fan of remakes, mostly because they're often a way to earn some money instead of really giving you something new. A lot of times I don't feel like we didn't need a remake of a certain movie but if it's done right then it can be fun to watch. I think that the magnificent seven is a good example of a movie remake that maybe no one was really asking for but it was done right, because I didn't feel like I was wasting my time watching this movie. There's enough going on in this movie to give the viewers something to watch and eventhough the villain is a bit disappointing, in my opinion, I think the massive shooting scenes and action moments make up for that. I don't think the story really suffered under all the action and it still gives people something to get into, eventhough most people would probably watch the movie for the action. Also let's not forget that the original the magnificent seven movie is a remake of the Japanese movie the seven samurai.

The story and the characters are good?

I think the story is ok, pretty much what you expect. A big bad business man wants to buy land and a town is in the way, so the man offers money but when he is being refused he sends in armed men to take what he wants even if that means killing innocent people. The people of the town try to hire some men to protect them and find a total of seven men to do the job, which seems impossible but sometimes just a few men can do what an army can't. I like the characters and think that the actors work pretty well together in the movie, it's also good to see the actors Denzel Washington and Ethan Hawke together in the movie, they played together in the fantastic movie training day also directed by Antoine Fuqua, and I also like Chris Pratt being the scoundrel who actually isn't as bad as you might think. You see all kinds of people but the fun part is that they somehow get along and get things done, which is good because you kind of want to root for the underdogs in this movie.

Is it worth checking out this movie?

I think it is, mostly thanks to the characters in the movie that are fun to watch but also the nice action moments. Sure the movie isn't a piece of art or might not be remembered as a masterpiece but it's fun to watch and in my opinion that's already enough reason to check it out! The movie can be brutal at times and I must admit that it surprised me at certain moments, but I don't consider that as a bad thing but actually a good thing. I really hate predictable movies and this movie definitely had some surprises. But maybe I was just a bit stunned with the action at times that I just didn't see things coming from a mile away.

Reacties

Populaire posts van deze blog

Button bashing

Movie Monday: Mr & Mrs Smith

Sinful Sunday: Why are you so serious?