Looking back at.....Guild Wars!

I think a lot of mmorpg players have at least heard of Guild Wars, I wouldn´t be surprised if a lot of them also played the game. And why not? It´s free to play so once you buy the game you don´t have to pay for anything else! Well you can buy the add ons or in game items, but that´s something you choose to do and not something you need to do to play. I think it´s thanks to this free to play system that Guild Wars became such a big succes, but the game itself is also pretty good!


Isn´t Guild Wars some cheap World of Warcraft copy? I´m certain that some WoW fan boys or girls would call it something like that, but in truth it´s actually something different. Sure some of the classes look like the classes in WoW and eventhough the names are different it comes down to the same thing, but I don´t think that makes it a cheap copy! Something I consider a huge difference is the type of people that play these games, I´m not saying it´s all good in one game and completely crap in the other but I did notice that when I played WoW (several months after the launch of the burning crusade) that no one wanted to help or really communicate in a helpful way. Even the friend I had that convinced me to play WoW quickly abandoned me in the game, it seems people had no time to help you or just didn´t feel like it. While in Guild Wars there are so many people willing to help, I´m not saying they´re all fantastic but a lot of people are being quite helpful to new players. I would like to add that WoW has a great community in the forums, it´s just a shame that this isn´t that well represented in the game itself.


What made you play and like Guild Wars? Well a friend of mine (different friend, not the asshole that told me about WoW) told me about this free to play mmorpg and we both bought the game (Guild Wars: Factions, which is the first expansion). At first it was a lot to take in but I enjoyed playing the game, the space you have in this game and how you can choose to take bots with you or you can play with other people in a team. I think I made several characters in the first couple of days, I wanted to figure out what was my favourite class and which combination (you can pick another class as your secondary class) worked the best for me. I struggled at times with certain missions, failure meant doing everything again and the game could be ruthless with that! But I improved myself and saw how I made progress until I reached the end. I was such a fan of the game that I wanted to buy the first game, which was a step back for me unfortunately. I´m not say that I didn´t like the game but going from Guild Wars Factions to Guild Wars wasn´t the smartest move, but I still enjoyed playing the game and fighting my way through the world! What I really like about the Guild Wars games is the diversity, the classes and the worlds. They´re big and full of things you can explore, there is so much to do and you often don´t have enough time to do it all in one week or month even!


After Guild Wars and Guild Wars: Factions I was very excited about Guild Wars: Nightfall. This is probably my favourite expansion, mostly thanks to the fantastic paragon class! But also introducing hero characters and ranking up through the game really brought more depth to this game. What´s also fun is that you can bring your characters from the previous games into these new games, the same counts for the first add on Eye of the North. Which was nice but really something for people that love the first Guild Wars game, I must admit that I still see Nightfall as my favourite! But then after waiting for a long time we finally got Guild Wars 2, bigger and better than Guild Wars! You kept a lot of the good things from the previous games and they added so much more! Of course Guild Wars 2 is also free to play, which made it quite popular! There is so much I could tell you about Guild Wars 2, but I´ll leave that for another Monday in the future!

Reacties

Populaire posts van deze blog

Button bashing

Movie Monday: Mr & Mrs Smith

Sinful Sunday: Why are you so serious?