To prestige or not to prestige, that is the question!

In most multiplayer games I see an increase in the level cap, which keeps players longer and longer in multiplayer. Of course that´s assuming that these players want to reach the level cap. Games that don´t want to increase the level cap usually rely on prestige where you go back to level one but with something extra or in some cases nothing new. I think that prestige, but also reaching the level cap, really shows the difference between fans of the game and just casual gamers. Because I don´t think everyone will reach the level cap or prestige when there is no reward for it, I guess an achievement or trophy might persuade some people to go for it but personally I´m not a big fan of it. It´s not really about being lazy, it´s more about not having the time to spend so much time in one game. Especially when a lot of nice games launch not far from eachother. That´s really one of the reasons why I hardly played Assassin´s Creed IV multiplayer, I really like that but because of the amount of games I still want to play I just haven´t found the time to actually play it. You might think that it doesn´t take much time to play, well that true but when I play then I really want to go for it and that means invest a lot of time and effort into it. Because as much as I enjoy games I also like to be succesful in them, a game can be quite frustrating if you lose a lot!


So why should you even bother to reach the level cap or go into prestige? As I mentioned before achievements/trophies can be a good reason to go for it, but that usually means that people will drop the game the moment they´ve got the achievements/trophies. So how do you keep people playing the same game without relying too much on achievements/trophies? Usually rewards work pretty good, to get new customizable weapons or armor (and outfit even), even if it doesn´t really make you stronger a lot of people will still like it if it makes them stick out from the rest of the gamer community. Of course you can be soldier 1200 with the kill cam but isn´t it better to be that bad ass guy with a cool outfit and matching weapon? That´s also why a lot of customizable packs are for sale online, it´s a smart tactic to keep people playing and earn some money on the side. So it´s all about money? I don´t think that really comes as a suprise, isn´t that one of the main reasons why developers make games? Of course some would say that they do it because they like games and I don´t think that´s a lie, but let´s not forget the reason why all of this is even possible...yes that´s right that would be money. But I don´t want to sound too harsh, because it´s also thanks to gamers that play and support these developers. Unfortunately that still means you have to pay to play...


I don´t think it´s a bad thing to have a prestige option in your game, it´s great for people that want to keep playing in multiplayer and it keep things going. Of course not everyone will prestige, some prefer to stay on the level cap so they keep all the nice rewards they earned up to that point. I guess it really depends on the game and what type of rewards you get, a good reward often persuades people to take a chance and enter prestige but not every game is that generous with that. Most times prestige only means bragging rights, but I doubt many gamers actually care about that. Achievements/trophies are a good way to convince people to go into prestige but often it sucks for people who don´t play a lot or just don´t want to spend that much time in that game. So maybe it´s nice if developers came up with something else. Maybe you could earn some new bonus dlc if you reach a certain prestige level, which means people that love the game will reach that eventually and get it but people who don´t like the game don´t really care about not getting it. So everybody is happy, well developers will miss out on some profits but if they really make games because they like them then that shouldn´t be a problem right?

Reacties

Populaire posts van deze blog

Button bashing

Movie Monday: Mr & Mrs Smith

Sinful Sunday: Why are you so serious?