Looking back at.....Goldeneye!

I think there are still a lot of people that see this game as one of their favourite games, I´m proud to say that I´m one of those people. This game was my first experience with first person shooters, which meant I went into a whole new genre and loved it from the start. But I remember the side effect I had from playing that game, every time I closed my eyes I would see myself running through hall ways and things flashing in front of my eyes. I guess I wasn´t used to this type of game, everything went so fast and from that first person perspective everything looked like it was coming straight at you. But this didn´t last for a long time, within a week I got used to it and then I tried to master the game.


For anyone that doesn´t know, I can´t believe they exist but it´s possible, Goldeneye is a game for the N64 that´s based on the James Bond movie also called Goldeneye. I think it was my first positive experience with a game that was based on a movie, so many times I had played movie based games that just sucked and I didn´t think that anyone could do it right. It made me a bit reluctant to buy this game but with me being a James Bond fan I couldn´t resist trying the game, I think it´s safe to say that this was one of the best decisions I´ve made in my gaming life. The controls are just incredible, the way I could spin around with those yellow c buttons is amazing, I dodged so many bullets thanks to that. Not just in single player, also a lot in multiplayer. Just like every first person shooter rookie I started on agent difficulty which is the easiest, after completing all that I moved on to secret agent and then finally 00 agent. After completing every mission on secret agent I unlocked a new level, the Moonraker one with Jaws. Then finally I completed all missions on 00 agent and then unlocked the one in the temple with the golden gun and Baron Samedi. I´ve had so much fun with the single player that I played it for weeks, also trying to unlock cheats by completing levels within a certain time limit which often meant that you had to rush through it and still complete all objectives. Not that you could use those cheats to complete levels on a high difficulty, because with cheats on you couldn´t unlock anything. It´s just something for fun.


Isn´t everyone that played that game crazy about the multiplayer? I think it´s safe to say that a lot of gamers that played the multiplayer love(d) it. I think up to this day it´s one of my favourite multiplayer games, sure the graphics look like shit now and of course there are far better looking ones with brutal executions and all that. But I don´t see that as being better, the way it played and the amount of fun I´ve had in Goldeneye multiplayer is something that has never been seen by me again in any other multiplayer game. I must admit that some come close, Team Fortress 2 to name one. But that four player split screen multiplayer is just crazy and at the same time brilliant! Another reason why I loved it is because it´s probably one of the few games I´m actually good at. I got so arrogant to think I could take on three other players at once, of course now you´d laugh at that but when you´re sitting on the couch all next to eachother and others seeing your screen as well then you know that it´s a bit more difficult then you might imagine. Goldeneye is also the game that inspired me to be a villain character, because of the dirty tricks I used in multiplayer I didn´t feel like playing as Bond, I always loved playing Alec Trevelyan aka 006. I think I might have turned some of my friends into enemies when we played that game, but still it was probably the most fun I´ve ever had in a multiplayer game. I´m still waiting on a game that can live up to Goldeneye multiplayer but so far I´ve been disappointed, so I´ve kind of given up hope for that. It was a different time and you played games a bit different then you play them now. Right now Goldeneye is a pleasant memory, a game I will never forget and always love playing.

Reacties

Populaire posts van deze blog

Button bashing

Movie Monday: Mr & Mrs Smith

Sinful Sunday: Why are you so serious?