What makes people turn into assholes when playing a game?

You might notice it when you play a game with other people, this one person that just has to annoy other people. For some reason this person can't play the game without being an asshole to the other players. Wether this is done with a mic or actions in the game it's really annoying having to play with these type of people. But when you play with random people there always seems to be one of these people around, that asshole that just has to be annoying. Why? Honestly? I don't know, I guess some people are just assholes and there isn't much you can do about it...unfortunately.

What makes people turn into assholes when playing a game?

I would like to know myself because everytime when I play a game where you have to work together as a team there is always this one person that wants to screw the team over and just be this annoying douchebag that tries to ruin the fun for others. It could just be my terrible luck of constantly being teamed up with these type of assholes but I get a feeling I'm not the only one who deals with these kind of douchebags! I guess some people gain some sad satisfaction out of annoying others which pretty much already says a lot about this person. For example you play Overwatch and the first thing you do is pick Mei and you freeze the exit of the spawn area so everyone is stuck there for at least six seconds. Then this same person playing as Mei will block your shots with the same ice wall during a fight. Oh what fun that must be for this sad sack of shit but honestly if that's the highlight of his or her day then I truly pity that person. If I had to make a guess then I think it's the combination of anonymity and the ability to do something annoying that creates these frustrating moments online, because some people can't resist being an asshole to others and if there is no punishment for that then why would you not do it? Oh right because it's a dick move to pull that type of crap against other people, especially people you don't know and just want to play the game.

Are these people also assholes when they're not playing games?

I honestly don't know, it's not like I have a camera on every person that plays games so I know what people do when they're not playing games. But it wouldn't surprise me if some people are also assholes when they're not playing games. Eventhough I can't help but get the feeling that some people are only assholes to others online because it's safer and most people know that they can't get into trouble with that kind of behaviour. There is nothing wrong with a joke but certain jokes aren't really jokes and joking around with people you don't know and don't even communicate with is kind of weird in my opinion. Do you walk up to a stranger on the street and push some snow into his or her back? This is something you might do with friends but I doubt that a lot of people do that with strangers. So why is this kind of behaviour more frequent when you play games online? Because people are braver online because they know they can get away with it. It's not like the person you screwed over can trace you down and will beat you into a pulp the next day. The chance for that is very small and so some people like to be an asshole to others online because they can do it and can get away with it. Yeah the online pranksters are really brave, but in truth you can't really blame them. Games allow these kind of things to happen and no matter how many times you complain to the developers about it you just end up being ignored most of the time. So the best thing to do is just ignore these assholes online or stick to single player games where the only asshole would be you if you want to screw over some NPCs. Trust me that can also be satisfying and I doubt that the NPCs will report you!

Reacties

Populaire posts van deze blog

Button bashing

Movie Monday: Mr & Mrs Smith

Sinful Sunday: Why are you so serious?