I hate Monday: Secret achievements and hidden trophies

By now it's probably not a secret that I like to unlock some achievements, I wouldn't say that I would do anything to unlock them but if I see an opportunity to unlock one then I don't want to miss it. The good thing about achievements and trophies is that they're listed and you often know exactly what you need to do to unlock them. Unless it's a secret achievement or hidden trophy, then you're on your own...

Secret achievements and hidden trophies suck?

Yeah they absoultely do! No matter if you play on yoru Xbox One or Playstation 4 we all have to deal with these stupid things sooner or later. Unless you really don't care about achievements and trophies. But if you try to unlock as many achievements and/or trophies then these secret and hidden version are going to make your life miserable because you don't know how to unlock them. Sometimes they're story progression achievements and trophies, so you unlock them when you continue with the story but there are also versions where you have to do something specific and it can even lead to something missable which means you have to play through the entire game again just to get to that moment and try again. This is why secret achievements and hidden trophies need to be removed, because they cause more frustration than fun. For example right now there are five secret achievements in the Sims 4 for consoles and I have no idea what four of them are. I discovered one by accident, it's doing the woohoo action with another sim in a rocket, but the other four are a mystery and I bet it's going to be something very specific and considering the amount of things you can do in the Sims 4 it could take weeks if not months to figure that out. Unfortunately the internet isn't really offering me much help at the moment. So even if I would get all the other achievements I would never be able to complete the game, as in getting all the achievements, because of the four remaining secret achievements. I don't think I have to mention how much that sucks! If a secret achievement or hidden trophy contains a spoiler, which seems unlikely in the Sims 4, then at least give some type of hint to at least know what you need to do to unlock it!

Why are there secret achievements and hidden trophies?

At first I thought that this was a lame attempt to slow players down, for those that try to unlock everything within a couple of days. But with the internet in your pocket, sometimes literally thanks to certain phones, you can look up a lot of things and secret achievements and hidden trophies don't have to be a problem anymore...unless it's the Sims 4. I think that secret achievements and hidden trophies are meant to challenge players a bit and are meant to be fun, as in you find out how to unlock it and the whole process of finding that out is supposed to be fun. I don't know about you but I don't consider that as fun at all! I find it frustrating that I don't know how to unlock it and that I have to either look it up or get lucky with some random thing I do in the game to unlock it. Imagine having all achievements or trophies in a game except a couple of secret or hidden ones. That's not fun and having to search the internet to find out what those achievements and trophies are isn't fun either! Why waste time on such a thing when they could've just told us what it is? Even a multiplayer achievement or trophy is better because you know at least what it is. Unless it's a secret multiplayer achievement or hidden multiplayer trophy, that would be absolutely the worst! So please developers, stop putting these secret and hidden versions of achievements and trophies in games, hardly anyone likes them and I prefer to play the game than having to look on the interent for a solution. Maybe I should just let go of trying to earn some achievements, that would probably be much better for me but it's a fun thing to do and I won't let some stupid secret achievement keep me from completing the game! Sigh...well it's back to exploring the internet for some answers.

Reacties

Populaire posts van deze blog

Button bashing

Movie Monday: Mr & Mrs Smith

Sinful Sunday: Why are you so serious?