GTA vs Saints Row

I think you´ve heard of both games series and you probably have a favourite, but which one do you think is better? Probably a lot of people will say that GTA is much better, but is that true? Is Saints Row really a wannabe GTA game or is there more to this game? Let´s find out!


GTA games.


In a GTA game there is usually a character that goes through some difficulty, but then against all odds he (in GTA the main character is almost always a man, sometimes a weirdo) manages to beat the bad guys (eventhough the main character isn´t really a good guy either). It´s a trusted formula in GTA and one that works because they sell a lot of games and there is a lot to do in those games. My first experience with GTA started in GTA III and that was a lot of fun, ever since I´ve been playing almost every GTA game that came out after that. GTA likes to stick close to the truth, in a way that it could´ve happened in real life but at the same time keep it interesting by making certain things ridiculous. For example shooting aliens during a bad trip when you smoke some strange weed in GTA V. But there is also drama where you sometimes lose people and revenge becomes the motive to bring down the bad guy(s). Multiplayer made its first appearance in GTA IV, as interesting as it was in that game that´s how incredible it is in GTA V! Unfortunately things don´t always run smoothly, which leads to frustration and sometimes even meant that you couldn´t play online at all! But GTA is dependable when it comes to delivering, you don´t get crazy stuff in the game and even when you get crazy then it´s still within the trusted GTA script. For example that means no super powers or an alien invasion! When you get tired of single player then multiplayer should keep you busy for a long time! What started as a game from a bird´s eye view perspective is now a 3D adventure with a lot of eye for detail and with a multiplayer mode that (when it works) is a lot of fun!


Saints Row games.


The first Saints Row game started pretty much as a GTA clone, sure it had a bit more crazy moments in it but it wasn´t a secret what inspired this game. Saints Row got a lot of hate for that, but that didn´t stop people from playing it and it was one of the first open world games on the new consoles (back in 2006) so that made it even more interesting for people to give it a try. It wasn´t a surprise that Saints Row 2 launched a couple of years later, this time with even more crazy shit and the ability to play as a woman. Somehow GTA has never given you the option for that, oh sure in multiplayer but that is also quite limited in how you present yourself. In Saints Row you have so many options with your appearance and a lot of (crazy) outfits to match your crazy personality in the Saints Row games. But then something interesting happened, Saints Row the Third made the game faster and a bit different then the first two. You still had to capture parts of the city until you completely took over, but it was different and things really went crazy! For example a zombie outbreak and eventually even getting super powers from a soda. This upset some of the fans and made them hate Saints Row, at the same time it also gained them a lot of new fans that love this new crazy vibe that´s running in Saints Row and you don´t find in a lot of other games. With Saints Row IV they went completely crazy, an alien invasion and you´re in a simulation (matrix style) with super powers. Did the developers lose their minds? No they actually made a unique game that is nowhere near GTA anymore! Some people hate the changes in Saints Row but I actually like them, because Saints Row was always less serious than GTA, which also means more focus on fun and less on things actually making sense. Saints Row isn´t trying to convince you of something or try to tell you something, it just offers you a lot of fun! Multiplayer is missing after Saints Row 2 but since Saints Row 2 you can play the game in co-op, another thing GTA games are missing! Unfortunately Saints Row games aren´t always stable, I´ve seen several Saints Row games freeze and that really sucks out the fun in a game. Now with Saints Row IV re-elected I´m also having some achievement issues where certain achievements are frozen with progress and so don´t unlock, that´s a shame but it´s not the end of the world!


Conclusion.


So which game series is better, GTA or Saints Row? That actually depends on you, because GTA games and Saints Row games aren´t exactly the same. Which means that the games series you like the most are probably what you like to see in games. So a more serious and detailed open world in GTA games is for people that prefer that and the crazy and highly creative world of Saints Row is for people that like to see that in games. Of course there´s nothing wrong with liking both game series and I doubt that I´m the only one. I do think that GTA (especially in GTA V) offer you more gameplay with multiplayer, something that I´d like to see in Saints Row as well. But playing with a friend online in Saints Row IV can also be a lot of fun! Whatever your favourite is I bet you´re in for a good time because both GTA and Saints Row offer you a lot and that´s a good thing!

Reacties

Populaire posts van deze blog

Button bashing

Movie Monday: Mr & Mrs Smith

Sinful Sunday: Why are you so serious?