Good and Evil, what does it mean in games?

I´d say any douchebag that is ´specialized´ in the mind and knows nothing about games will often say that games are bad for kids, I won´t say that this is completely false because kids shouldn´t play the mature content games but I do think that there are plenty of games that are good for kids and actually help them with memory and give them faster reflexes! But what about morality games? When you play the villain or just as a guy that does bad things does that make you a bad person as well?


I don´t think so! I like playing the villain every now and then, but does that make me a bad guy? Well I don´t have a need to do harm to others and I´m quite content with my life as it is. So this foolish talk about how some violent games twist you into someone else is just bullshit! But I would like to add that it´s a good idea to keep kids out of mature content games, which seems unfair but I take it that there is a reason that there is a minimum age on the box for a reason. I don´t make the rules, but I think it´s a smart idea to stick to them.


So people are supposed to become evil when they play the evil hero in Fable? I guess some people would believe that, especially people that know very little about games and probably have never played a game themselves! Perhaps Fable isn´t the best example, what about Call of Duty? Sometimes you play the role of the villain in some games, you can do bad things and what does that make you? I´d say it makes you a gamer that plays the role of the villain or someone who does something bad in a game. It doesn´t mean anything, because games aren´t real! I won´t deny that sometimes people that are up to no good use games to live out a fantasy, but do we all have to pay for that? Taking away games or putting restrictions on games doesn´t help, someone who is up to no good will still do what he or she wants and people that just want to play games will have a more difficult time playing them.


Good and evil in games isn´t the same as in real life? No it´s not, let´s say as a hero in Fable I want to kill every civilian in a village. The guards will try to stop me but I kill them as well, I have fun because I´m doing something bad. Does that make me a bad person? When I play Saints Row IV and I go on a rampage, I kill so many people and enjoy the chaos I´ve created. Does that make me a bad person? First of all I know it´s a game, I´m not hurting anyone and it´s just for fun. Fun, some people should look it up sometime and experience it! As long as you know what´s real and what not, but also if it´s just for fun then what is the problem? There were crimes long before there were games and yet games now suddenly get the blame for the rise in criminal activity? Some people cause accidents when they drink alcohol, but not everyone that drinks alcohol is an asshole that drives when drunk. So why does every have to suffer under the stupid shit that some people do? It´s not fair to people that drink alcohol and it´s also not fair to gamers to be punished for something only a few do.


As a kid you often learn what good and evil means, some go preaching from a bible and others talk about what the right thing to do is and what the wrong thing to do is. But I think we can all agree that there are certain things you shouldn´t do, that doesn´t mean that they don´t happen but at least we know what´s right and what´s wrong. I think half of the parents in the world have no idea what their kids are up to online, also one of the reasons why you sometimes see a lot of negative comments under a video on youtube or the agression you encounter in online multiplayer. I´m not saying it´s all kids, there are plenty of adults that behave badly as well, but once again you can´t punish everyone for something only a few do. So all this talk about making it more difficult for people to play games is just stupid, how about you learn people what´s right and wrong and then teach your kids (and other kids) that! It´s easy to throw a kid behind a computer and hope that you won´t hear from the kid again the rest of the day, but at that point you should really look at yourself and think if you´re being a good parent. Kids also do enough crap on their own, so it´s not like the parents are automaticly to blame but it does help if you spend some time with them and say what´s right and what´s wrong. I don´t know how much difference this will make but at least it´s better than not saying anything at all!

Reacties

Populaire posts van deze blog

Button bashing

Movie Monday: Mr & Mrs Smith

Sinful Sunday: Why are you so serious?