I´m unhappy with a game, what do I do?

I think we´ve all played a game that wasn´t as great as you hoped it would be. worse case scenario it was a complete disaster! What do you do? Going back to shop where you bought it isn´t always an option, because these days you buy a lot online and once you´ve opened and played the game then you can´t expect them to take the game back. The same counts for any game shops in your town, sometimes you have friendly people that understand that the game just sucked or that you were unhappy with it and they give your money back or they let you pick another game. It helps if you´re a valued customer. But in most cases you don´t get your money back, which means you´re stuck with a game that makes you unhappy. Sure you could trade it in and get less money in return, but that usually doesn´t make you happy.

But it´s not just games that sucked from the start, sometimes developers change things in a game and then suddenly the game isn´t as much fun as it used to be. You´ll see this a lot in popular multiplayer games, then the slightest change can cause a flood of angry responses. I think the people of Black Ops 2 know this all too well, when they change something about one of the sniper rifles and suddenly the CoD world exploded. People were threatened and insulted, which probably didn´t make their lives much fun. It always makes me wonder why people attack people so personally, ok so you´re unhappy about something then how about you write a letter and tell them about it. It´s easy to vent your anger but that doesn´t help your cause, not at all!

So what do you do when you´re unhappy about changes in a game? Well let me start with what you don´t do, you don´t threaten or insult people! When changes are made in a game it´s for balance, it´s not to bully gamers or just give a big fuck you to everyone using that specific weapon. Maybe you don´t understand why they made the changes? How about asking them why they do it? Maybe they have an answer for you that makes sense, if not then you can try to persuade them. We all make mistakes, a developers isn´t immune to that and if you plead your case with some charm then maybe you can get things done. When I look at all the times that I got frustrated by Rockstar then I could´ve spammed their inbox with hate mails, sometimes I really felt like doing that. But what good would it do? Sure at that moment I would feel better, but I doubt that it helps my cause and I seriously doubt that it will speed up fixing the game. It´s better to walk away from a game that causes you so many frustrations. You really have to wonder if it´s worth it, if every day you play it you´re annoyed and angry. Games aren´t made to get angry at, but maybe someone with anger issues can vent his or her frustrations while gaming. Still it´s not nice to do that to other people, so unplug your mic and go rant at the screen. It will make you feel better and you don´t hurt anyone, ok maybe you´ll wake up the neighbours but then again you can´t make everyone happy!

Reacties

Populaire posts van deze blog

Button bashing

Movie Monday: Mr & Mrs Smith

Sinful Sunday: Why are you so serious?