CoD Rage!

I think most people that have played a Call of Duty game know what I mean with CoD rage, because it´s something you´ll hear almost every day when you play some online multiplayer. Often it´s because someone is mad because he or she got killed, the frequent bullshit remark isn´t a stranger in these outbursts either. But what really makes people so mad about this game?

A lot of people seem to think that violent games make people violent, of course this is ridiculous. Sure you can get annoyed, irritated and upset because of a game but you don´t turn violent because of a game. You´re either a violent person or you´re not, but being angry doesn´t make you violent. Let´s not forget that a lot of people talk tough online but in real life they´re cowards, especially the teenage section of CoD and other games similiar to CoD. The most rage I see in CoD games is when people die in a gun battle, get shot by a camper for the tenth time or have a terrible spawn that leads to his or her death once more. I actually understand why you would be frustrated by this and I personally would be annoyed by it myself. I´ve had several moments in CoD Ghosts where I shot someone at point blank and I saw the hit impact on his character and yet he just took it and killed me with one shot. This is nothing new and something you´ll see a lot, it´s quite annoying when your shot that was a direct hit doesn´t do what it supposed to do and the other just walks away killing you without trouble. The same counts for campers, people that make it their goal in life to be this annoying person in a game. You can try to avoid them but often they´ll shoot you in the back if you try to go around them, it´s annoying and something that makes you angry. The terrible spawns that you see a lot in CoD games is also present in CoD Ghosts, there is hardly anything worse than getting killed five times in a row because of bad spawns. No matter how much fun you had, it´s instantly gone because of something like that.

So games like CoD are meant to be frustrating? No I don´t think so, it´s usually other people that make games like this frustrating. Also it does help if you have a high tolerance level, because you´ll meet some of the lowest cowards in games like this. That also includes cowards that use cheats, another reason to get upset. So people don´t get mad at the game, they get mad at other people. I must say that the game does inspire you to be more cowardly and dastardly, because you have to shoot someone in the back as a field order or humilate someone (which means teabagging). Ok these aren´t difficult field orders but they do make people mad when they´re the victim of someone else who wants to carry out the field order. How about a field order that requires you to move constantly for two minutes? That should make it more difficult to camp! But no, games like this are almost set on getting people mad. Eventhough I refuse to believe that this is the intention of the developers.

Some people also accuse the immature players in games like CoD for all the rage that you encounter in the game. I don´t think that it´s just CoD when it comes to immature behaviour, it´s in a lot of games and when you have online multiplayer then you have a good chance to meet people that you probably don´t like. Because not many people are actually friendly online, even when in real life they are friendly. It´s almost as if people put their asshole hat on when they go online, it´s strange but I´ve seen it happen a lot. But you always keep people that just enjoy annoying others, probably because their own lives sucks and so they must annoy others for some sad reason. I truly do understand frustration in games like CoD, I´ve been in that situation many times when I play games like that with others online. But what I don´t understand why people put their mic on and scream at others, this doesn´t help you at all and will only make people want to annoy you more. Sure you might feel better to tell someone how much you hate him or her, but it will only make things worse for you in that match. If you´re truly annoyed by someone then leave once you´re done with the match, there is no need to play another match with that guy or girl when all he or she does is annoy you. It´s a waste of your time and I doubt that you play games to get mad at people. One of the most important lessons for gamers is know when to quit!

Reacties

Populaire posts van deze blog

Button bashing

Movie Monday: Mr & Mrs Smith

Sinful Sunday: Why are you so serious?