Random killing in games

I don´t think there is anything more frustrating when another player keeps killing you for no reason online, in GTA Online this is something that happens a lot! Which is strange though, because you can go into so many activities and kill other players there. You have deathmatch, team deathmatch, GTA races and even parachuting with weapons. So if you have this violent need to be annoying, then at least do it somewhere it is expected and not in free roam when people are trying to buy something or exploring. But it´s nothing new really, this has been going on for some time and I can´t even remember when it became a real thing for people to be this annoying prick online.

Troll or just a sad person? I guess the name troll is quite popular, some people actually try very hard to be considered as one. But why? A troll is nothing to be proud of, it´s not cool and it´s also not funny. Sure you can desperately try to be funny with your pranks and upload your crap to youtube but really how many people will watch that? Unfortunately it´s more popular then you´d think, because thousands of people enjoy how some people make the lives of other people online miserable. But is there a difference? Well yes, if you play with friends and you decide to pull a dick move then you´ll probably catch some flack from your friends but usually it´s just friends messing with eachother. One of my favourite videos on youtube are from a well known troll, but he often just does that to his friends and they know exactly what to expect when they play with them....well most of the time then. What I find annoying if strangers online start to behave like that, trying to desperately to be someone they´re not. Perhaps they´re bored or maybe they´re just sad, who really knows?

You shouldn´t shoot at member of your team? Well I doubt I need to explain that, but somehow games like CoD and Halo seem to be full of these people. The thing is that it doesn´t help the team one bit and it´s quite frustrating as well, of course accidents can happen and I don´t see a reason to raise a storm of insults when someone accidently hits you. That´s why I´m glad when there is a kill cam, so I know what the other did and how it happened. With Halo I also sometimes check theater mode and replay the match if I´m uncertain about something. It might sound silly to you but I don´t like to be negative to someone if they don´t deserve it. But these team killing fucktards are not ashamed of what they do and it´s often for stupid reasons as well, sometimes you´re holding a weapon they want or they want to carry the flag when you´re carrying it. I never trully understood this desire to be this guy who is the team killer, because I´d feel ashamed if my bad skills would get others killed. So killing a player deliberately probably means you really just don´t give a flying fuck what others think, but that´s ok because that really makes me not care when I kill that person! Maybe it´s not the smartest thing to do, to start a vendetta with someone else but I´m not really the type that runs away from a fight. Unless it´s all just a waste of time and I´m busy with something else, then I don´t really see a reason to lower myself to the team killer level.

How can you avoid these people or defend yourself against them? Well when someone is on your team then it´s not always easy to get rid of them, but some games allow the host to kick people from the team. In Halo 4 if someone killed you then you sometimes get the option to kick that person, so once again checking the kill cam might actually help you determine if there was foul play. I would really recomend not to be like me and take it personally, because that means you´ll hunt this person down until he´s begging for mercy or the time runs out. In a way I see the funny part of ha ha you´re dead, but when you´re a part of a team or just learning the game it sucks when others keep killing you for no reason. Well maybe money might be the reason in GTA Online, but really does that mean to keep killing the same guy. I´m actually happy that the servers seem to be a bit more accessible, so playing just with friends or even solo is a good way to avoid these random killers. It´s maybe not what you want, but if every session has one or two of these people then it´s not fun to be constantly hunted down when all you want to do is explore and have fun. Rockstar did put something in the game with being a good sport (which means you´re nice to others) and being a bad sport (which means you´re not that nice to others). There is a bonus for being nice for some time and a penalty for those who aren´t that nice, so far I haven´t seen people really being affected by a bonus or penalty but maybe it takes some time? It would be nice if there would be effective ways to stop people from ruining the game for others. But sometimes one persons fun means another person misery. Maybe it´s just the way things work, both online and offline. I certainly hope it´s not, games are meant to be fun and not just to a select group of people!

Reacties

Populaire posts van deze blog

Button bashing

Movie Monday: Mr & Mrs Smith

Sinful Sunday: Why are you so serious?